Thursday, June 21, 2018

google plus
Chandigarh » Politics

Posted at: Jan 12, 2017, 2:12 AM; last updated: Jan 12, 2017, 2:12 AM (IST)

Mayoral poll today

BJP’s Asha Jaswal set to be city’s new Mayor; Cong fields Gurbax Rawat

The number game

  • The MC has a strength of 36 members — 26 elected councillors, nine nominated councillors and the MP.
  • The BJP-SAD alliance has 21 councillors, Congress has four and one councillor is an Independent. There are nine nominated councillors. Local MP Kirron Kher, who is an Ex Officio member of the House, also has a vote.

Poll schedule

  • Polling starts: 11 am
  • Results: By noon
  • Returning officer: Deputy Commissioner Ajit Balaji Joshi
  • Presiding officer: Nominated councillor Kamla Sharma

BJP leaders likely to be there

  • BJP’s in-charge of Punjab and Chandigarh affairs, Prbhat Jha and BJP general secretary organisation for Punjab, Dinesh Kumar, likely to attend the mayoral poll today.

Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, January 11

The election for the post of Mayor, Senior Deputy Mayor and Deputy Mayor will be held tomorrow. Thirtysix members of the Municipal Corporation — 26 elected councillors, nine nominated and one Member of Parliament (MP) — will exercise their voting right.

This will be the first mayoral elections of the new MC House (2017-2021).

As the BJP-SAD alliance has 21 seats in the present MC House, therefore, the BJP candidates are all set to win on the three posts of the Mayor, Senior Deputy Mayor and Deputy Mayor. Besides, nine nominated councillors are also expected to vote in favour of the BJP candidates as a majority of them are active BJP workers. The BJP has fielded councillor Asha Jaswal for the post of Mayor, Rajesh Kumar Gupta for Senior Deputy Mayor and Anil Dubey for the post of Deputy Mayor. Whereas, the Congress has fielded Gurbax Rawat for the post of Mayor, Sheela Phool Singh for the Senior Deputy Mayor and Ravinder Kaur Gujral for the post of Deputy Mayor.


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On