Thursday, June 21, 2018

google plus

Posted at: Mar 21, 2017, 1:54 AM; last updated: Mar 21, 2017, 10:31 AM (IST)

BJP-led govt wins trust vote in Manipur

BJP-led govt wins trust vote in Manipur
N. Biren Singh — ANI file photo

Imphal, March 20

The BJP-led government today won the floor test in the Manipur Assembly with a voice vote. There was no division of votes in the exercise that saw the lone TMC MLA also supporting the N  Biren Singh government.

The BJP has 21 MLAs in the 60-member House. It has the support of four MLAs of Naga Peoples’ Front (NPF), four of National Peoples’ Party (NPP), lone MLA of Lokjanshakti Party and Independent MLA Asab Uddin, besides a Congress legislator who was also inducted into the Council of Ministers.

Lone Trinamool Congress MLA T Robindro Singh also extended support to the BJP-led government although his party’s central leadership alleged that he had “not consulted the party” over it.

(Follow The Tribune on Facebook; and Twitter @thetribunechd)

Earlier in the day, Yumnam Khemchand Singh of the BJP was elected as the new Speaker of the House. He was also elected by a voice vote against Congress candidate Govindas Khonthoujam.

Manipur Governor Najma Heptulla on March 15 had appointed N Biren Singh as the first BJP Chief Minister of the state. — PTI


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On