Thursday, June 21, 2018

google plus
Punjab » Politics

Posted at: Nov 10, 2016, 2:08 AM; last updated: Nov 16, 2016, 6:52 PM (IST)

Chhotepur’s APP names 15 candidates, all AAP rebels

Chhotepur’s APP names 15 candidates, all AAP rebels
APP convener Sucha Singh Chhotepur (yellow turban), releases the candidates’ list in Chandigarh. Tribune Photo: Manoj Mahajan

Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, November 9

The Apna Punjab Party (APP) today announced its first list of 15 candidates. In a press conference party’s convener Sucha Singh Chhotepur said eight candidates were for general constituencies and seven for reserved.

The candidates are Sarwan Singh Sewak (Dinanagar), Baljeet Singh Bhatti (Baba Bakala), Dr Jugal Kishore (Jalandhar West), Ashwani Joshi (Nawanshahr), Manjinder Singh Romi (Bassi Pathana), Dr Harpal Singh (Jaiton), Jaswinder Singh Gill (Bathinda Rural), Jarnail Singh Akaalgarh (Nabha), Sharanjeet Singh Jogipur (Ghanaur).

Hardip Singh Kingra, who was training coordinator of state unit of AAP, has already been named APP candidate from Faridkot. After denied ticket from Faridkot, he had revolted against AAP.

Dr Surinder Kumar Dwivedi, former joint secretary of the AAP’s labour wing, will be APP candidate from Kotakpura. Gurvinder Singh Shahi from Bhulath. Baljit Singh Bhatti, sarpanch Sathiala village, will contest from Beas.

Major Jarnail Singh (retd) will contest from Balachaur and Puneet Bhardwaj, son of former deputy chairman of State Planning Board RR Bhardwaj, will be fielded from Derabassi. RR Bhardwaj was incharge of AAP’s intellectual cell. Prof Gurvinder Singh Mananke is APP candidate from Tarn Taran.

Talking to the media, Chhotepur said all 15 candidates were earlier AAP volunteers, but they were not given their due. He said each of the candidates had been selected by the screening committee through a transparent process. He said the remaining candidates would also be announced soon.

CPI-ML announces eight candidates

Chandigarh: The CPI-ML (Liberation) on Wednesday announced eight candidates for the upcoming state Assembly elections. The party claims that it has influence in some areas, including Mansa, Sangrur and Bathinda. As per a press release issued by the party, the eight candidates are Ranjit Singh Tamkot (Mansa), Bhagawant Singh Samaon (Bhudhladha), Surjeet Singh (Sardulgarh), Harwinder Singh Sema (Maur), Ghuman Singh (Dirbha), Swaran Singh (Bhadaur), Gulzar Singh Batala (Fatehgarh Churian) and Ashwani Kumar Happy (Batala). TNS


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On