Saturday, January 20, 2018

google plus
Punjab » Politics

Posted at: Jan 12, 2017, 2:02 AM; last updated: Jan 12, 2017, 9:31 AM (IST)

5 nominees file papers on Day 1

Chandigarh, January 11

Five candidates today filed their papers on the first day of the nomination process.

The spokesperson for the office of CEO, Punjab, said three nominations were filed from Faridkot district. These candidates are Gurbaksh Singh of the BSP, his covering candidate Lalwinder Singh and Dr Jeewan Jot Kaur, an independent candidate.

Jeewan Jot is former convener and founding member of the AAP in Faridkot.

Besides, one candidate each filed nominations from Bathinda and Fazilka.

AAP rebel Ashok Garg filed papers from Abohar after paying obeisance at a temple in Nai Abadi. Garg said 24 local activists had applied for the AAP ticket, but a Fazilka resident Atul Nagpal, who joined AAP in April last, was nominated as party candidate. — TNS


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On