Order of Nishan-e-Khalsa winners
Tribune News Service

ANANDPUR SAHIB, April 14 — To mark the tercentenary of the birth of the Khalsa, the Anandpur Sahib Foundation headed by Shiromani Akali Dal president and Punjab Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal awarded the Order of Nishan-e-Khalsa to 80 most prominent Sikhs of the century.

The awards were presented at an impressive gathering in the main hall. Among the awardees are some legendary heroes of the freedom struggle, certain top Akali leaders, those Sikh officers who rose to high positions in the government to serve the country and many others who have excelled in the fields of science, medicine, teaching and arts.

Following are the recipients of the Order of Nishan-e-Khalsa:

Legendary heroes:

  1. Bhagat Singh
  2. Ajit Singh
  3. Baba Gurdit Singh
  4. Baba Sohan Singh Bhakna

Akali leaders:

  1. Sant Fateh Singh
  2. Sant Harchand Singh Longowal
  3. Giani Kartar Singh
  4. Master Tara Singh

Religious leader:

  1. Baba Kharak Singh

Freedom fighters:

  1. Udham Singh
  2. Kartar Singh Sarabha

Sikh scholars:

  1. Sewa Singh Thikriwala
  2. Bhai Randhir Singh
  3. Baba Ram Singh
  4. Giani Ditt Singh
  5. Bhai Gurmukh Singh
  6. Gurmukh Singh Chabal
  7. Sant Darshan Singh Pheruman

War heroes:

  1. Flying Officer Nirmaljit Singh Sekhon
  2. Major Gian Singh
  3. Sub Hon Lt Gurbux Singh
  4. Lt-Gen J.S. Arora,
  5. Capt Mohan Singh Kohli

Former Union Cabinet Secretary:

  1. S.S. Grewal

Scientist and administrator:

  1. Dr M.S. Randhawa

Financial expert:

  1. Montek Singh Ahluwalia


  1. Prithipal Singh Maini
  2. Daljit Singh
  3. K.S. Chug
  4. J.S. Bajaj
  5. Jagjit Singh Hara
  6. Bhai Mohan Singh


  1. Khushwant Singh
  2. Kartar Singh Duggal
  3. Bhai Harbans Lal
  4. Bhai Jodh Singh
  5. Principal Teja Singh
  6. Bhai Vir Singh
  7. Prof Puran Singh

Legal luminaries:

  1. Justice Ranjit Singh Sarkaria
  2. Justice R.S. Narula
  3. Justice Surjit Singh Sandhawalia
  4. Justice Sukhdev Singh Kang
  5. Justice Savinder Singh Sodhi.


  1. Raunak Singh

NRI writer:

  1. Mr Raghbir Singh Bains

Image Map