Friday, August 23, 2002, Chandigarh, India


L U D H I A N A   S T O R I E S


PCMS hails decision on special posts
Our Correspondent

Ludhiana, August 22
In a major decision to rejuvenate health services, the Punjab Government has decided to create 260 specialist posts of doctor with 65 SMOs (specialists) in 65 rural hospitals present in the areas of the state.

In a press note here, Dr Hardeep Singh, state president, and Dr Surinder Singla, general secretary of the PCMS Association, hailed the decision and thanked Health Minister R.C. Dogra for his efforts to raise the quality of health services.

Dr Hardeep Singh said that this had been demanded in the memorandum of the PCMS Association submitted to the Health Minister that rural hospitals and mini PHCs in the rural areas should be made functional by posting more PCMS doctors, with new posts of SMO at these centres. 


Ludhiana Sports Welfare Association
Our Sports Reporter

Ludhiana, August 22
The Ludhiana Sports Welfare Association has been reorganised and a new team of governing body and office-bearers has been formed. The association decided to organise Punjab State Inter-College and Inter-University Hockey Tournament in October.

This was resolved at a meeting of the association held here yesterday which was presided over by national hockey coach Baldev Singh. To encourage young hockey players in the district, two upcoming school-level players, one boy and one girl, will be selected who would be suitably awarded and given scholarships. The association will also make it a regular feature to conduct off-season hockey camp on the Punjab Agricultural University ground.

The following are the new office-bearers of the association:

Patron-in-chief- Thakur Udhay Singh; patron Baldev Singh; president-Amrik Singh senior vice-presidents Devi Dyal, Kulwant Singh Boparai, Gurjetinder Singh Aulakh, Balbir Singh, Rajinderpal Singh Anand , Rama Bhanot, Paramjeet Singh Bir, Ashwani Kumar; vice-presidents Didar Singh, Sanjeev Kumar, Nariner Singh, Balkar Singh, Varinder Singh Soni, Tanvir Singh Dhaliwal, Ajayapl Singh Romi, Pirthipal Singh Batala; General Secretary- Sukhwinder Singh; joint secretaries Manmohan Mishra, Prof Kawaljeet Singh, Gurbhej Singh, H.P. Singh, Randeep Singh Sandhu, Kulwant Singh Sohal, Bhupinder Singh; treasurers Parveen Thakur, Gurpreet Singh; press secretaries Prof Kawaljeet Singh, Jagroop Singh Jarkhar , Sarvarinder Singh Roomi; legal adviser Bhupinder Singh; executive members Johnson, Avtar Singh Bhola, Iqbal Singh, Guriqbal Singh, Harpreet Singh, Sandeep Singh, Navdeep Singh, Gagandeep Singh, Gursatinder Singh, Satish Kumar, Manpreet Singh, Puran Singh, Amritpal Singh, Jagroop Singh and Harbans Singh.

Home | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Editorial |
Business | Sport | World | Mailbag | In Spotlight | Chandigarh Tribune | Ludhiana Tribune
50 years of Independence | Tercentenary Celebrations |
122 Years of Trust | Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |