Wednesday, December 25, 2002, Chandigarh, India

L U D H I A N A   S T O R I E S


ICAR to set up 7 new KVKs
Tribune News Service

Ludhiana, December 24
Dr B.S. Hansra, Assistant Director (General), ICAR, said that seven new Krishi Vigyan Kendras (KVK) will be established in Punjab in the next Five-Year Plan.

He was presiding over Chaudhary Charan Singh Memorial Farmers Day at Krishi Vigyan Kendra, Gurdaspur, today. The first KVK in the state was set up at Gurdaspur and the achievements of this kendra are being praised at the national level.

He congratulated two progressive farmers, Mr Mohinder Singh Grewal of Kanganwal village (Ludhiana), and Mr Sukhpal Singh Bhullar of Ghumankala (Bathinda), for being selected for the Chaudhary Charan Singh national award.

He exhorted the other farmers to follow in their footsteps and emulate their success in the field of farming.



PAU board approves appointments
Our Correspondent

Ludhiana, December 24
The Board of Management of Punjab Agricultural University has expressed its concern over the financial crises and called upon the Punjab Government to release the amount of arrears worth Rs 12.7 crore to tide over the crises.

The board met in Chandigarh yesterday with Dr K.S. Aulakh, Vice-Chancellor in the chair, and reviewed the progress of various projects and also approved the appointment of certain heads of the departments.

Dr Aulakh told today that the arrears of Rs 12.7 crore pertained to CPF, GPF and pension of the teachers and non-teaching staff. Dr A.P.S. Mann, research coordinator, was appointed Dean, College of Basic Sciences and Humanities, in place of Dr M.A. Zahir who is retiring on December 31.

Dr Gurdip Singh was appointed head of the Department of Plant Pathology while Dr A.S. Sidhu was appointed head of the Department of Vegetables. Dr Sidhu is at present working as associate director research stations at Faridkot. These two appointments will be effective from March 1, 2003. Dr B.S. Ghuman was appointed head of the Department of Processing and Agricultural Structures.

Dr H.S. Gulati, head, Department of Soil and Water Engineering, Dr Rupa Bakshi, head, Department of Family Resources Management, Dr I.J.S. Jaiswal, head, Department of Human Development, Dr Charanjit Kaur, head, Department of Food and Nutrition, and Dr V.K. Vij has been appointed, Direction Regional Research Station, Abohar. Dr Jagmohan Singh Bains has been appointed Professor emeritus in the Department of Languages, Culture and Journalism.

Home | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Editorial |
Business | Sport | World | Mailbag | In Spotlight | Chandigarh Tribune | Ludhiana Tribune
50 years of Independence | Tercentenary Celebrations |
122 Years of Trust | Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |