Monday, February 10, 2003, Chandigarh, India


N C R   S T O R I E S


Bank of Baroda short-change Bank of India
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, February 9
Bank of Baroda defeated Bank of India by two wickets in a B Division match of the DDCA League at the Kotla No 2 ground.

Scores: Bank of India: 260 all out in 38.4 overs (Pradeep Kanojia 94, Ramesh Sharma 36, Mahesh Kumar 34, Vijender Singh 4 for 50).

Bank of Baroda: 266 for 8 in 39.1 overs (O P Gera 113, Ajit Kumar 34 n o, Sanjeev Tandon 4 for 43).

Young Delhi defeated Maulana Azad Club by 61 runs in an A-II Division match at Kotla No I ground.

Scores: Young Delhi: 239 for 7 35 overs (Shanti Prakash 46, Chetan Bhatia 37, Pankaj Malik 34 n o, Mohd. Rehan 4 for 22).

Maulana Azad: 178 all out in 27.1 overs (Mohd Saquib 64, Zakiruddin 39 n o, Mohd. Fazil 4 for 17, Amit Prakash 3 for 32).

Lal Bahadur Shastri Club defeated Pahari Dhiraj by eight wickets in an A-I Division match at the Ramjas Sports Complex ground.

Scores: Pahari Dhiraj: 88 for 8 in 25 overs (Raman Gujral 20, Ashutosh Sharma 5 for 21).

Lal Bahadur Shastri Club: 90 for 2 in 16.5 overs (Amit Mishra 34 n o, Sandeep Yadav 26 n o, Sanjay Kumar 2 for 13).

Delhi Police defeated R R Gymkhana by eight wickets in a Super A Division match.

Scores: R R Gymkhana: 102 for 4 in 15 overs (Chetan Sharma 38, Gagan Malik 28).

Delhi Police: 103 for 2 in 14.4 overs (Sanjay Verma 53 n o, Vineet Bhardwaj 22).

Chandni Chowk Gymkhana defeated Oriental Bank of Commerce by six wickets in a B Division match at the Yamuna complex.

Scores: Oriental Bank: 141 for 9 in 35 overs (S K Sharma 54, Anil Arora 26, Gopal Rawat 5 for 27).

Chandni Chowk Gym: 142 for 4 in 21.5 overs (Narinder Kumar 46 n o, Kesari Sharma 35).


Salwan Boys bounce into final
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, February 9
A stroke-filled half century by Yogesh Nagar, who also earned the Man of the Match award, and deadly bowling by Darshan Kajania (3 for 15) helped last year’s runners-up Salwan Boys defeat DAV, Shalimar Bagh by 32 runs and enter the final of the sixth Rohtak Road Gymkhana R P Jain Inter-School Under-16 Cricket Tournament at the Bharat Nagar ground.

Scores: Salwan Boys: 151 for 6 in 35 overs (Yogesh Nagar 57, Devender Kumar 30 n o, Vishu Tomar 3 for 11).

DAV: 119 all out in 33.2 overs (Tarun Sharma 36, Darshan Kajania 3 for 15, Anant Marichi 3 for 25).

DAV School had beaten Modern School, Barakhamba Road by six wickets in the semi-final.

Scores: Modern School: 190 for 9 in 40 overs (Karan Khanna 77, Jagriti Anand 55, Manan Sharma 25, Vipin Malhotra 3 for 47, Pawan Chauhan 3 for 48).

DAV: 193 for 4 in 37 overs (Vipin Malhotra 70, Rajat Jain 40, Jaladh Dua 26 n o, Vishu Tomar 25 n o, Karan Rai 2 for 53).

Gaurav stars for Brighto

Gaurav Malhotra played a fine all-round role (66 and 2 for 25) to help Brighto Club beat Ghaziabad XI by 41 runs and lifted the third Dustak Cricket Tournament title at the Chilla sports complex.

Scores: Brighto: 173 all out in 33.4 overs (Gaurav Malhotra 66, Sunil Mehra 42, Sameer Sharma 28, Rajender Bisth 3 for 33, Satpal Yadav 3 for 36).

Ghaziabad XI: 132 all out in 30.3 overs (Satpal Yadav 42, Sanjay Rawat 36, Gaurav Malhotra 2 for 25, Inderjeet Singh 3 for 25, Ajay Nagia 2 for 26).


Signature lift polo trophy
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, February 9
Signature defeated Jindal Steel 7-6 in the final of the Chivas Northern India Polo Championship at the Jaipur Polo ground on Sunday. The nerve-wracking match was witnessed by a full house, which included Gayatri Devi, Tiger Pataudi, Sharmila Tagore and Union Law Minister Arun Jaitley.

Signature were given a head start by Mazzini and Basheer to give them a 2-1 lead in the first chukker. However, Jindal Steel fought back to equalise through Samir Suhag and Pablo. Mazzini struck three goals for Signature while Basheer contributed an equal number of goals. Angad Kalaan chipped in with one goal. With the teams tied at 6-all, the final chukker was an edge of the seat thriller, and Mazzini scored the match-winner when he converted a 60-yard penalty just two minutes before close.

Samir Suhag and Pablo Jauretche scored two goals each while Simran and Shamsher contributed one goal each for Jindal Steel.

Signature won the Chivas Trophy and a cash prize of Rs 80,000. Gerardo Mazzini of Argentina was adjudged the most valuable player of the tournament.


Vinod Khanna opens new clubhouse
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, February 9
Union Minister of State for External Affairs and film star Vinod Khanna inaugurated the new clubhouse of the Delhi and District Cricket Association (DDCA) at the Ferozeshah Kotla stadium.

Among those who attended the function were former Test player Prakash Bhandari, Rajiv Shukla, MP, DDCA vice-president C K Kahnna, former Test cricketer Chetan Chauhan, who is also a vice-president of the DDCA, Suresh Chopra, S P Bansal, Dr Ram Babu Gupta, Dr S S Sareen, Anil Khanna. And other distinct committee members of the DDCA attended the function.


Sehwag, Zaheer lead in Castrol ratings
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, February 9
Virender Sehwag and Zaheer Khan lead the race for the Castrol Indian Cricketer of the Year Award.

Sehwag retains his place in the Castrol Top Five with two hundreds in the one-day series against New Zealand. The only other finalist of 2001-02 who keeps his place in the Top Five is last year’s winner Rahul Dravid.

The Top Five are Virender Sehwag, Zaheer Khan, Rahul Dravid, VVS Laxman and Sanjay Bangar. Castrol has also announced several new awards, which include the Indian Batsman of the Year (one-dayers), Indian Batsman of the Year (Test matches), Indian All-Rounder of the Year (one-dayers), Indian All-Rounder of the Year (Test matches), Indian Bowler of the Year (one-dayers) and Indian Bowler of the Year (Test matches). Each award will comprise a trophy and a cash award of Rs 1 lakh.

Mr Ravi Pisharody, director (marketing), Castrol India, said, “Castrol Awards have become the most prestigious cricketing awards in the country and are closely followed by the cricket lovers as well as cricketers themselves. By introducing more awards, we are giving an opportunity to the specialists to be recognised.”


DSA president bereaved
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, February 9
Hafiz Zahiruddin, father of Delhi Soccer Association (DSA) president Nawabuddin Zaheer, died in Delhi on Sunday after a prolonged illness. He was 99 years. He is survived by four sons and six daughters. The DSA condoled the death of Hafiz Zahiruddin.

Home | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Editorial |
Business | Sport | World | Mailbag | In Spotlight | Chandigarh Tribune | Ludhiana Tribune
50 years of Independence | Tercentenary Celebrations |
123 Years of Trust | Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |