Saturday, February 22, 2003, Chandigarh, India


N C R   S T O R I E S


Sunil Khanna elected chairman of Sood Cricket
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, February 21
Mr Sunil Khanna, joint secretary (sports) of the Delhi and District Cricket Association, was elected chairman of the Om Nath Sood Memorial Cricket Tournament at an executive committee meeting held at Rani Bagh. The meeting was chaired by Om Nath Sood Memorial Cricket Tournament committee president S Sarabjeet Singh Bedi.

The following officials have been elected to the tournament committee: Sunil Khanna (chairman), S Sarabjeet Singh Bedi (president), Harish Makhija, Balram Tanwar and Mahesh Sharma (vice-presidents), Pramod Sood (secretary), Dharmesh Bhardwaj (joint secretary) and Pradeep Bhola (treasurer).

Technical committee: Rajan Seth (umpire), Kamal Juneja (umpire), Vineet Kumar, Anil Sood, Deepak Sachdeva and Darshan Khurana. Patrons: S Maninder Singh (former Test player), Sanjeev Sharma, Monty Kakkar, Rajinder Kawatra, Suresh Chopra, V P Sharma, Vikram Jain, Puneet Chandok, Kimati Lal Gorkey, J S Rana and N K Mahajan.

Organising secretary Pramod Sood said the tournament will begin on April 6 and the final will be held on April 27, at the Khalsa College ground. He said the winners of the title will be given a cash prize of Rs 25,000 while the runners-up will be awarded Rs 15,000.



Sahil, Samarth slam hundreds

New Delhi, February 21
Dashing unbeaten centuries by Sahil Kher (158) and Samarth Singh (131) helped Bharat National Cricket Academy defeat Madan Lal Academy by 195 runs in the Mata Durga Devi (Under-13) Cricket Tournament at the Bharat National School ground.

Scores: Bharat National Cricket Academy: 349 for 3 in 40 overs (Sahil Kher 158 n o, Samarth Singh 131 n o, Sourabh Nischal 27, Kunal Kumar 3 for 35).Madan Lal Academy: 154 all out in 38.2 overs (Gaurav Sharma 38, Geet Singh 32, Anuj Tyagi 3 for 23, Suraj Chattarjee 3 for 28).

Yogesh Mehra’s display in vain

A fine all-round performance by Yogesh Mehra went in vain as HCL Technologies lost to Reebok by 44 runs in a league match of the third Reebok Cup Cricket Tournament played at the Khalsa College ground. HCL conceded 61 extras, including 44 wides, 11 leg-byes and 6 byes, to spoil their chances.

Scores: Reebok:176 for 6 in 25 overs (Sonu Manna 54, 4x5, 74b; Sandeep Mathur 27, 4x2, 28b; Ashish Garg 3 for 32, Yogesh Mehra 3 for 34).

HCL Technologies: 132 for 6 in 24 overs (Yogesh Mehra 86, 4x12, 6x1, 56b; Gyan Ranjan 17, 12b; Sandeep Mathur 3 for 25, Ravi Yadav 2 for 44). Yogesh Mehra was adjudged the Man of the Match.

Kanav Anand shines

A breezy unbeaten knock of 79, studded with 12 fours and one six, off just 46 balls, by Kanav Anand and a fiery spell of 3 for 10 by Monu Thapa helped B L Kashyap beat Tata Tele Services by seven wickets in a league match of the second Turf Corporate Cricket Challenge at the Jamia Millia University ground. Kanav Anand was named the Man of the Match.

Scores: Tata Tele Services: 130 for 9 in 25 overs. B L Kashyap: 136 for 3 in 13.3 overs . OSR



Narayan Sunderam jumps to lead
Our Sports Reporter

Kapil Dev takes a swing at the CanSupport Golf Tournament New Delhi, February 21
Narayan Sunderam tallied 42 nett stableford points to take the lead in the CanSupport Golf Tournament at the Delhi Golf Club course on Friday. The tournament is being held to raise funds for cancer patients.

Sunderam played consistent golf to hit the front while K K Sabherwal was placed second with 39 nett points. Admiral Jain and B Hoon were tied for the third position at 38 nett points apiece.

Ms Suman Sikand won the straightest drive contest while Anuva Saurabh returned the longest drive on the 18th hole with a 220-yard effort off the tee. Vice-Admiral S C Chopra won the closest to the pin on the fifth hole prize.
Kapil Dev takes a swing at the CanSupport Golf Tournament at the Delhi Golf Club course.



Shastri Club enter semis
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, February 21
A fine all-round performance by Sumit Rana (2 for 10 and 52 n o) helped Lal Bahadur Shastri Club defeat K N Colts by seven wickets and entered the semi-final of the Deep Chand Yadav Memorial Cricket Tournament at the Nangloi ground.

Scores: K N Colts: 77 all out in 20 overs (Tarachand 17, Sumit Rana 2 for 10, Parvesh Chikara 2 for 12, Sanjay Rawat 2 for 15). Lal Bahadur Shastri Club: 78 for 3 in 14.2 overs (Sumit Rana 52 n o).

Orient down Citi Corp

Orient Craft defeated Citi Corporation by four wickets in the tenth Teri Cup Cricket League match at the Teri Oval.

Scores: City Corporation: 151 for 5 in 25 overs (B S Rohit 65 n o, 7x4; Dhananjay 35, 4x4).

Orient Craft: 152 for 6 in 21.4 overs (Manoj 67 n o, 7x4; Sunil 23, Dhananjay 2 for 31, Sudip 3 for 29). Manoj was named the Man of the Match.



NDA lift Thimayya Cup
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, February 21
National Defence Academy (NDA) defeated Indian Military Academy (IMA) 4-3 to lift the Gen. Thimayya Cup. In an exciting contest, played between cadets, GC S Choudhary scored three goals for IMA while DCC Vishal Chouhan scored four goals for NDA. The trophy was presented by Maj-Gen D K Palit, former Commandant of the Indian Military Academy.

Saturday’s fixtures: First round match of the Additional DG RVS Cup: KIDC vs Gunners; 10 am — Army Equestrian Centre. Jiwaji Rao Scindia Gold Cup: Army Blue-TAG Heuer vs McDowell’s Signature (2.30 pm); Jindal Steel and Power vs Army TAG Heuer (3.30 pm)— Jaipur Polo ground.d.



Senior cops slated for promotion
Tribune News Service

New Delhi, February 21
Long awaited promotions of some senior Delhi Police officers are in the offing.
The proposal, which has been lying in the Union Home Ministry for its nod, is likely to be cleared soon, according to the sources. The sources said that Joint Commissioner of Police (Headquarters) Sewa Dass was likely to be promoted as Special Commissioner of Police.

He would take over as the Special Commissioner of Police (Intelligence), a post which is lying vacant. Two other officers, both of DG-level, Mr Suresh Roy and Mr Gurcharan Singh, are also trying for the same post.

At the DCP level Deputy Commissioner of Police (Crime) M S Upadhye, DCP (South) P Kamaraj and DCP (Training) Taj Hassan are likely to be promoted as Additional Commissioners of Police, DCP (Headquarters) T N Mohan and Additional Commissioner of Police (Crime) Qamar Ahmed are likely to be promoted as Deputy Inspector-General (DIG) and Inspector-General (IG), respectively.

Another officer, Mr Samsher Bahadur Deol, is returning to the Delhi Police after a stint in the National Security Guards (NSG) and is expected to join as the Joint Commissioner of Police.


Home | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Editorial |
Business | Sport | World | Mailbag | In Spotlight | Chandigarh Tribune | Ludhiana Tribune
50 years of Independence | Tercentenary Celebrations |
123 Years of Trust | Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |