Wednesday, June 25, 2003, Chandigarh, India


N C R   S T O R I E S


Another multi-specialty hospital opens
Tribune News Service

Gurgaon, June 24
Yet another multi-specialty hospital, called Neelkanth Hospital, has opened here. The 40-bedded hospital is located at DLF City.

According to Dr Bindu Garg, Infertility Consultant and Managing Director of the hospital, the institute is the one of a kind in Haryana.

It has a super specialty character aimed at delivering the highest standards of care in this region.

The hospital is equipped with state-of-the-art infrastructure and the latest equipment and technology.

Among others the institute provides services in invasive cardiology, internal medicine, respiratory medicine, gynecology and obstetrics, gastroenterology, hematology, minimal invasive surgery, orthopaedics, paediatrics, urology, nephrology, oncology, neurology and neurosurgery, ENT, ophthalmology, dermatology, endocrinology, psychiatry, diabetic foot care and reproductive health.

Also, the hospital boasts of an ICCU which has central monitoring, ventilators and defibrillators.

The Wipro GE Cath lab meets the requirements for all invasive procedures like angiography, angioplasty etc.



Parminder, Himanshu qualify for semis
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, June 24
Parminder Chawda and Himanshu Kharbanda qualified for the semi-finals of the boys under-19 singles in the 14th Pt Tirath Ram Memorial Badminton Tournament at the New Era School courts at Mayapuri.

Parminder made short work of Vaibhav Gupta 15-4, 15-2 while Himanshu disposed of Amit Rawat 15-3, 15-7.

In other quarter-final matches, Apoor Vij beat Sumit Garg 15-5, 15-5 while Mayank Garg downed Keshav Sharma 12-15, 15-1, 15-10.

Following are the other results: Boys under-13 singles (quarter-finals): Bharat Bajaj beat Ravi Chhabra 15-1, 15-8; Atul Chauhan b Jatin Ummat 15-7, 15-13; Rishab Sharma b Manjit Singh 15-10, 15-5; Koustav b Ekansh 15-2, 15-6.

Boys under-16 singles (quarter-finals): Vaibhav Gupta b Lakshay Manjani 15-5, 15-8; Abhinav Prakash b Gaurav Sharma 15-8, 15-8; Parit Bhargva b Arun Kumar 15-9, 15-4; Mayank Garg b Guranshu Chopra 15-6, 7-15, 15-13.

Men’s doubles: Parvinder and Vikas b Sunil and Kulvinder 15-10, 6-15, 15-13; Apoorv Vij and Ashish b Manish and Naveen 15-3, 15-9; Rudra and Muvashir b Himanshu and Anuj 15-11, 15-13; Sumit and Harpreet b Harmeet and Wazir 15-5, 15-4.


Sonnet enter Turf Cup final

New Delhi
Excellent all-round performances by Rushil Bhaskar, who claimed three wickets for one run and hit 21, and Mayank Aggarwal (2 for 25 and 35 n o) helped Sonnet Club beat R P Academy by eight wickets to enter the final of the Turf Youth Cup Cricket Tournament at the Venkateshwara College ground.

Scores: R P Academy: 123 all out in 31.4 overs (Kaif Mohd. 37, Mayank Aggarwal 2 for 25, Gaurav Dahiya 2 for 14, Rushil Bhaskar 3 for 1). Sonnet Club: 125 for 2 in 27.5 overs (Rushil Bhaskar 21, Mayank Aggarwal 35 n o, Yogesh Nagar 52).

Scindia Cup Cricket

All-round performances by K S Rana (57 and 3 for 35) and Shailender Singh (42 and 3 for 32) helped Cotton Hourbar beat S B Youth Club by 32 runs and entered the final of the first Madhav Rao Scindia Memorial Cricket Tournament at the Andrewsganj ground. Rana received the man of the match award.

Scores: Cotton Hourbar: 184 all out in 29.4 overs (K S Rana 57, Shailender Singh 42, Harender Rawat 3 for 40, Vijay Kumar 3 for 43).

S B Youth: 152 all out in 24.5 overs (Ankit Bhargava 43, Upender Singh 35, K S Rana 3 for 35, Shailender Singh 3 for 32). OSR


20 club teams for DSA B Division League
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, June 24
Twenty clubs will battle it out for top honours in the Delhi Soccer Association B Division Open Clubs Football League Championship, which will be kick-started at the Ambedkar Stadium on Wednesday.

Rohini Club will meet Union Club in the opening match at 4.30 pm.

The teams have been divided into three groups. The groupings are: Group A: Paschim Heroes, Shakti, Punjab Heroes, Young Bengal Association, Delhi Tigers and Venus.

Group B: Rohini, New Friends, South India, Royal Bengal, Columba’s, Ajmal and Union Club. Group C: Golden Stars, Goodwill, Nivia, Delhi Students, Lodhi Club, Gulabi Bagh and Young Sports.

The preliminary league matches will be held simultaneously on the Ambedkar Stadium and the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium east ground. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the Super League, to be played on a round-robin basis. The top two teams of the Super League will earn promotion to A Division next season.

The DSA will declare those clubs, who concede more than two walk-overs in the league, as “non-functional”.

Home | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Editorial |
Business | Sport | World | Mailbag | Chandigarh Tribune | Ludhiana Tribune
50 years of Independence | Tercentenary Celebrations |
123 Years of Trust | Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |