Tuesday, July 8, 2003, Chandigarh, India


N C R   S T O R I E S


The days of ‘here today, gone tomorrow’ are over
Jatinder Sharma

Rohtak, July 7
Gone are the days when the Maharshi Dayanand University used to have as many as nine registrars in nearly 33 months and five vice-chancellors over a period of six years. It appears, the university has, at long last, attained the stage of administrative stability with the completion and renewal of Vice-Chancellor’s three-year term and the completion of one-year peaceful tenure of the Registrar, Dr A K Rajan.

Interestingly, during the vice-chancellorship of Mr Vivek Chand Sharma from February 23, 1994 to November 22, 1996, there had been as many as nine registrars for obvious reasons. At that time, Mr Shiv Raman Gaur was OSD to the then Chief Minister, Mr Bhajan Lal and Mr Vivek Chand Sharma is the maternal uncle of Mr Gaur.

Mr T C Gupta, IAS was the Registrar when Mr Vivek Chand Sharma joined as Vice-Chancellor. But on September 1, 1994, he was transferred and Prof O P Goyal was appointed Registrar. He worked as such for 12 days only and was replaced by Mr Amulya Chandra, IAS on September 12, 1994.

Mr Amulya Chandra stayed as Registrar till May 8, 1995 when Mr Devender Singh, IAS was appointed in his place.

But very soon on October 16, 1995, Mr Arun Kumar, IAS, replaced Mr Devender Singh as Registrar. He also stayed for a few months and on March 15, 1996 was replaced by Mr P R Bishnoir, IAS. Mr Bishnoi could hardly stay for two and a half months, that is up to June 7, 1996. He was replaced by Mr Anad Mohan Sharan, IAS on June 11, 1996. But Mr Sharan could stay only for 24 days. Thereafter on July 10, 1996, Dr Jitender Prasad of Sociology Department was appointed Registrar. But so soon in order to complete the circle, Mr T C Gupta, IAS was again appointed Registrar on August 22, 1996.

Similarly, from 1976 to 1982, there have been as many as six vice-chancellors of the Maharshi Dayanad University. Mr M L Batra was the Vice-Chancellor from April 23, 1976 to August 18, 1977; Dr J D Singh from August 19 to October 27, 1977 and was succeeded by Mr Hardwari Lal from October 28, 1977 to October 27, 1980. He was replaced by Mr J D Gupta, IAS from October 28, 1980 to September 24, 1981. Dr S N Rao was Vice-Chancellor from September 25, 1981 to June 7, 1982 and was replaced again by Mr Hardwari Lal on June 8, 1982.

This trend went on and on. Dr R K Nigam remained Vice-Chancellor from March 22, 1985 to March 6, 1986. The then Chief Secretary, Mr P P Caprihan, IAS acted as Vice-Chancellor from March 7, 1986 to April 3, 1988. He was replaced by Lt-Gen (Retd) G C Aggarwal from April 4, 1988 to October 16, 1990 and then by Mr T D Jogpal, IAS from October 17, 1990 to February 22, 1991. And on February 23, 1991, Brig (Retd) O P Chaudhary became the 12th Vice-Chancellor of the university and the first to complete the three-year term which was clipped by state governments’ ban on appointments etc.

Mr Vivek Chand Sharma remained Vice-Chancellor from February 26, 1997 to February 26,2000 and again succeeded by Prof L N Dahiya from February 26 to March 2, 2000 and by Mrs Anita Chaudhary, IAS from March 2, 2000 to June 4, 2000.

In a paradigm shift, Maj-Gen (Retd) Bhim Singh Suhag continued as Vice-Chancellor of the university since June 4, 2000 and created a history of sorts when his three-year term was renewed on May 29, 2003 by the governor-cum-chancellor of the university on the advice of the state government. When Gen Suhag joined as Vice Chancellor, Dr Preet Singh, then a Lecturer in the Department of Law, was the Registrar. But on December 8, 2000 he was replaced by Dr S P S Dahiya who occupied the office till July 8, 2002 when Dr Ajay K Rajan took over as Registrar.

Though it may look surprising, yet it is a hard fact that since its inception in May 1976, the Maharshi Dayanand University had 28 registrars so far. Out of them, 14 have been serving IAS, one IRS, one professor, three principals, five readers, one lecturer and one deputy registrar. Some of them had stayed for few days, others for few months and the remaining for few years.

There have also been instances when some registrars served under several vice-chancellors. For example, Mr T C Gupta, IAS had seen four vice-chancellors—Brig O P Chaudhary, Mr Vivek Chand Sharma, Prof L N Dahiya and Gen O P Kaushik. Similarly, Dr S N Rao had been Registrar, Vice-Chancellor and also had Mr M L Batra, Mr J D Gupta and Mr Hardwari Lal as his Vice-Chancellors. 



SFI to agitate against fee hike

Rohtak: The state executive committee of Students’ Federation of India (SFI) has resolved to involve students, teachers and parents in the statewide agitation proposed to be launched just after the commencement of the new session on July 15. In a statement here today, Rajvinder Chandi and Jai Bhagwan, president and general secretary of the state committee condemned the enormous hike in the fee for different courses.

The student leaders alleged that the excessive hike in the fee made by the government was a clear violation of the constitutional right to education of the people.

They said the ‘unjustified’ hike in the fee had ridiculed the slogan ‘education for all’ as it had restricted the ‘right to higher education’ to a limited number of people.

The student leaders alleged that no mention of the fee structure in the prospectuses of different courses was a violation of ‘right to information’.

They said the students and their parents came to know about the hefty fee of the respective courses only at the time of counselling. They said a meeting of the state executive committee of the federation would be held here on July 10 and 11 to discuss various aspects of the issue. OC



14 girl students reach highest pass
Our Correspondent

Rohtak, July 7
A contingent of 14 girl students of Students’ Welfare Department of Maharshi Dayanand University reached the highest motorable pass of the world at Khardung La situated at a height of 5602 meters.

A spokesman for the university administration said the contingent had recently returned after successfully exploring Leh (Ladakh) and Darjeeling areas under the ‘Explore India’ programme.

The girl students of the University Teaching Departments (UTDs) visited Leh and the boys visited Darjeeling.

He said the route taken for this programme covered Manali, Solang Nala, Rohtang Pass, Keyllong, Jaspa, Leh etc.

The contingent also visited the Kargil area. Ms Nidhi Mishra of Institute of Management Studies and Research (IMSAR) was adjudged the best student during the programme.

A similar programme for boys of the UTD was sent to Darjeeling from June 24 to July 4. As many as 16 students from UTDs took part in this programme and travelled up to New Jalpaiguddi including Tiger Hill.

In another programme, 18 girl students from different affiliated colleges of the university attended the Youth Leadership Training camp organised at Mysore (Karnataka) from June 22 to 29.

As many as 17 male students from different affiliated institutions of the university took part in the similar camp which was organised at Veli (Trivendrum) from June 12 to 19.


Home | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Editorial |
Business | Sport | World | Mailbag | Chandigarh Tribune | Ludhiana Tribune
50 years of Independence | Tercentenary Celebrations |
123 Years of Trust | Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |