Friday, September 26, 2003, Chandigarh, India


C H A N D I G A R H   S T O R I E S


R.J. Dash is Officiating Director, PGI
Our Correspondent

Chandigarh, September 25
In less than 24 hours after Prof S.K. Sharma, Director of the PGI proceeded on leave till October 15, the Endocrinology Department's head, Prof R.J. Dash today took over as the officiating Director.

Prof Dash, when contacted, said there was nothing unusual about his taking over the charge. “Being the senior-most, I always do it in the Director’s absence,” he asserted.

Prof Sharma’s leave application, according to well placed sources in the Union Health Ministry, was accepted on Thursday. Prof Sharma had gone to Delhi on Wednesday. He had reportedly met officials in the Health Ministry. Official sources in Delhi had, however, refused to confirm. Prof Sharma could not be contacted at his residence today also.

Prof Dash is scheduled to retire on September 30. Sources said he was likely to get an extension in tenure as an urgent meeting of PGIMER’s Institute Body was being convened on September 29 at Delhi where the issue of granting him an extension was likely to come up. Dr Dash said he was not aware of it.


Kinshuk’s winning spree continues
Our Sports Reporter

Chandigarh, September 25
Local lad Kinshuk Sharma (fifth seed) continued with his winning spree on the second day when he upset the third seed Jatinder Mehlda of Delhi in three sets to sail in the last four of the under-18 section of the AITA Junior Ranking Tennis Tournament at the Tennis Stadium, Sector 10, here today. Other boys from city who have entered the semifinals include top seed Sanam K. Singh and Arjun Talwar.

In the girls under-18 section, three city girls, Alipt Sandhu, Chandni Thakur and Bahaar Paul made it to the last four.

Results: boys: (under-18), (quarter-final): Sanam K. Singh (Chd) b Gursher Singh Harika (Chd), 6-3, 6-1; Arjun Talwar (Chd) b Paras Thakur (Chd), 6-2, 6-3; Kinshuk Sharma (Chd) b Jatinder Mehlda (Dli), 6-2, 2-6, 6-3; B. Navameeth Kannan (TN) b Vijayant Malik (Chd), 6-1, 6-2.

Boys (under-18 (second round) : Sanam K. Singh (Chd) b Pritam Singh (Chd), 6-2, 6-1; Gursher Singh Harika (Chd), b Sanjog Kapoor (Chd), 6-2, 6-0; Arjun Talwar (Chd), b Izreek Singh (Chd), 6-1, 6-0; Paras Thakur (Chd), b Rajkanwar Singh (Chd), 6-3, 7-6(4); Kinshuk Sharma (Chd) b Navinder Pal Singh (Chd), 6-2, 6-1; Jatinder Mehlda (Dli) b Nakul Badopalia (Dli), 6-3, 6-3; B. Navameeth Kannan (TN) b Hazary Javed Akbar (Pb), 6-3, 7-5; Vijayant Malik (Chd) b M. Hari Prasath (TN), 6-4, 4-6, 7-6(7).

Girls (under-18) (quarter-final round) : Rohini Das (WB) b Anushka Kapoor (Dli), 6-2, 6-2; Navjot Saini (Pb) b Chandni Thakur (Chd), 6-0, 6-2; Bahar Paul (Chd) b Ankita Singh (Chd), 6-1, 6-2; Alipt Sandhu (Chd) b Mohina Sarkar (WB), 6-1, 6-3.

Girls (under-18) (second round) : Rohini Das (WB) b Jugwinder Kaur (Pb), 5-7, 6-1, 6-1; Bahar Paul (Chd) b Sonia Sharma (Chd), 6-2, 6-1.

Boys (under-14) (quarter final round) : Navinder Pal Singh (Chd) b Mandeep Yadav (Chd), 6-1, 6-1; Deepinder Singh (Chd) b Bharat Bhardwaj (UP), 6-7(4), 6-0, 6-4; Shiva Sangwan (Chd) b Navdeep Singh Uppal (Chd), 6-4, 6-2; Digvijay Singh (Chd) b Ashwani Kumar Thapar (Chd), 7-6(3), 6-2.

Boys (under-14) (second round) : Navinder Pal Singh (Chd) b Uday Karan Singh Puniha (Chd), 6-4, 6-1; Mandeep Yadav (Chd) b Dushyant Verma (Dli), 3-6, 6-1, 7-6(6); 9-Deepinder Singh (Chd) b Akshat Joshi (Chd), 6-1, 6-3; Bharat Bhardwaj (UP) b Dody Barani Irawan Siregar (Dli), 6-2, 6-1; Navdeep Singh Uppal (Chd) b Rahul Jain (Dli), 6-2, 6-3; Shiva Sangwan (Chd) b Vikas Chauhan (Har), 6-2, 6-3; Ashwani Kumar Thapar (Chd) b Shikhar Kapoor (Dli), 6-3, 3-6, 6-1; Digvijay Singh (Chd) b Rishi Rajpal (Dli), 3-6, 6-3, 6-2.

Girls (under-14) (quarter-finals) : Navjot Saini (Pb) b Shradha Singh (Chd), 6-3, 6-0; Gopika Kapoor (Dli) b Vrinda Kapoor (Dli), 7-6(3), 6-7(4), 7-6(5).

Girls (under-14) (second round) : Shradha Singh (Chd) b Rachna Sethia (WB), 6-3, 6-1; Navjot Saini (Pb) b Mohina Sarkar (WB), 6-2, 6-3; Vrinda Kapoor (Dli) b Poorna (Chd), 6-4, 4-6, 6-3.


DAV-15 girls bag b’ball title
Our Sports Reporter

Chandigarh, September 25
Girls of DAV Model School, Sector 15, bagged the basketball title in the AlI-India Mahatma Hansraj Aryan Zonal Tournament that concluded at the DAV English Medium School, Sector 8, Panchkula, last evening. DAV girls defeated hosts, 36-16. Shivani and Rajneet were the main scorers. Besides DAV schools, various schools of Chandigarh and Haryana took part in the tournament. In volleyball, DAV Model School girls secured the second place. They narrowly lost to DAV Public School, Yamunanagar, 23-25, 20-25.

In athletics, Yogita of the DAV Model School clinched two gold medals, one each in long jump and triple jump. In relay race, its athletes, Rajneet, Priya, Yogita and Kanika Dev, got the Silver medal. Ms Rakesh Sachdeva, Princpal, DAV Model School, appreciated the achievements of the players.

Inter-school table tennis

Shishu Niketan Senior Secondary School, Sector 22, outplayed Government Model Senior Secondary School, Sector 35, by three matches to two and bagged the under-19 boys title in the UT Inter-School Table Tennis Tournament at Sector 23 table tennis hall here today. In the match for the third place, AKSIPS-41 defeated Bhawan Vidyalaya, Sector 27, 3-0.

Results: final: Nitish Rana b Rahul, 11-7,11-8,11-4; Vaibhav lost to Sajal, 9-11, 11-13,12-14; Sumit b Raman, 11-5,14-12,12-10; Nitish lost to Sajal, 8-11, 6-11, 12-10, 11-6, 12-14; Vaibhav b Rahul, 11-7,11-5,11-8.

Ranking tournament

The Chandigarh Second State Ranking Table Tennis Tournament will be organised by New Public school, Sector 18, and the Rotary Club, Chandigarh (Central), under the aegis of the Chandigarh Table Tennis Association from October 1 to 3 at the Sector 23 table tennis hall. The events will be held in cadet boys and girls in below-12, sub-junior boys and girls (below-14), junior boys and girls (under-17) and men and women singles categories. Entries close on September 29.

Badminton meet

Kannu and Anita from Haryana triumphed in the North Zone Inter-State Badminton Championship, the finals of which were held at Indira Gandhi Sports Complex, Shimla, on Tuesday.

In the Chadda Cup for women, Haryana beat Chandigarh, 2-0. Kannu Aggarwal, a student of Class VIII, Little Flower Convent School, Panchkula, defeated H. Sarda from Chandigarh.

In the Shafi Quereshi Cup for girls (under-19), Haryana beat Delhi, 2-1. Chiterlekha beat Anita, 11-5, Anita and Kannu beat Vanshika and Chiterlekha, 15-1, 15-3; and Kannu beat Vanshika, 15-1, 15-3.

Mr Devender Singh, president, Haryana Badminton Association, congratulated the Haryana women team for its achievement. He said this was for the first time that Haryana girls had clinched these titles in the tournament.

In the Rahimtoola Cup for Men and the Narang Cup for boys, Haryana teams of Sumit, Rohit, Peeyush and Sachin managed to enter semifinals.

Home | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Editorial |
Business | Sport | World | Mailbag | Chandigarh Tribune | Ludhiana Tribune
50 years of Independence | Tercentenary Celebrations |
123 Years of Trust | Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |