Saturday, October 25, 2003

The beads that bring relief
Navadeep Singh

Rudraksha beads have a number of powerful properties
Rudraksha beads have a number of powerful properties

RUDRAKSHA are the seeds of the fruit, which grows on rudraksha — elaeocarpus ganitrus — trees. The fruit, which constitutes of pulp and a thin outer skin, has seeds with varying mukha (facets). The rudraksha tree, which is as big as a banyan tree, grows in the Himalayan regions of India, Nepal, Indonesia, Java and Jakarta.

Rudraksha beads are considered to have many powerful properties that can help transform one’s personality and outlook in a positive way. Sinking and floating the rudraksha in water or revolving it between two coins cannot determine its genuineness. Also rudraksha (two mukhi and 5 mukhi) with Om, Shivling, Trishul, etc, engraved on it are fake. Rudraksha should be bought from a reliable source and not from roadside sellers. Authentication of rudraksha can be made by taking into account its uniform size, glossiness, hardness, or thorny surface.

Precautions to be taken by wearers

  • Not to be worn when you smoke, drink and eat non-vegetarian.

  • Not to be worn during intercourse.

  • The necklace is made of 54 or 108-beads Japa mala could be made of 27 beads. Do not use the neck mala as a japa mala or vice-versa.

  • When you go to sleep, remove the mala and keep it under your pillow.

The properties of rudraksha from one mukhi to 14 mukhi are as follows:

The one-mukhi rudraksha enlightens the super-consciousness, provides improved concentration. The wearer enjoys all comforts at his command but still remains unattached. The ruling planet is Sun. It is recommended for headache, heart diseases and right eye defect.

The two-mukhi rudraksha represents Ardhanareshwar, a joint image of Lord Shiva and Goddess Parvati (Shakti) and blesses the wearer with unity, be it that of guru-shishya, parent-child, husband-wife or friends. Its ruling planet is Moon, and it is recommended for left eye defect, diseases of heart, lung, brain, kidney and intestines.

The three-mukhi rudraksha represents "Fire" God. It is ideal for those who suffer from inferiority complex, fear, guilt and depression. Its ruling planet is Mars. It is recommended for blood diseases, smallpox, weakness, disturbed menstrual cycle, spontaneous abortion and ulcer.

The four-mukhi rudraksha represents Lord Brahma. The wearer gains power of creativity. It is extremely effective for students, scientists, researchers, scholars, artists, writers and journalists. Its ruling planet is Mercury and is recommended for mental disease, paralysis, yellow fever, and nasal disease.

The five-mukhi rudraksha represents Lord Shiva. Its wearer gains health and peace. The five-mukhi mala is also used for japa. Its wearer never has untimely death. Its ruling planet is Jupiter, and is recommended for diseases related to bone marrow, liver, kidney, feet, thigh and ear and diabetes.

The six-mukhi rudraksha represents Lord Kartikeya. It saves us from the emotional trauma of worldly sorrows and gives wisdom and knowledge. Its ruling planet is Venus, and is recommended for problems related to eyes, reproductive organs, urinary tract, prostate, mouth and throat. Could be worn on the right hand.

The seven-mukhi rudraksha represents Goddess Lakshmi. The one who wears this is blessed with good health. It should be worn by those who are suffering from miseries pertaining to body, mind and finances. Its ruling planet is Saturn, and is recommended for colic pain, pain in bone and muscles, paralysis, impotency.

The eight-mukhi rudraksha represents Lord Ganesha. It helps the wearer attain riddhi and siddhi. His opponents are finished i.e. the evil intentions of his opponents are changed. Its ruling planet is Rahu, and is recommended for lung, feet, skin and eye ailments.

The nine-mukhi rudraksha represents Goddess Durga (Shakti). When invoked, the goddess blesses the wearer with energy, dynamism and fearlessness, which are useful to live a successful life. Its ruling planet is Ketu (Dragon’s tail). Recommended for diseases of lungs, fever, eye pain, bowel pain, skin disease and body pain. It could be worn on the left hand.

The 10-mukhi rudraksha has no ruling planet. It removes all negative planetary energy. It works like a shield on one’s body and drives evil away. When invoked, the wearer’s family will be nourished endlessly, generation after generation.

The 11-mukhi rudraksha represents Lord Hanuman. It blesses the wearer with wisdom, right judgement, powerful vocabulary, adventurous life and success. Above all, it also protects from accidental death and helps in meditation. It has no ruling planet.

The 12-mukhi rudraksha represents Sun God. The wearer gets limitless administrative powers. It is good for ministers, politicians, administrators, businessmen and executives. It is miraculously effective. Its ruling planet is Sun, and is recommended for problems related to heart, lungs, skin and bowels.

The 13-mukhi rudraksha represents Lord Indra. It showers the wearer with all possible comforts of life. Its ruling planet is Venus. It is helpful for meditation and spiritual fulfilment.

The 14-mukhi rudraksha is the most precious divine gem — deva mani. It awakens the sixth sense by which the wearer can foresee future happenings. This rudraksha can protect the wearer from ghosts, evil spirits and black magic. It provides the wearer safety, security, riches and power. It is a powerful antidote for Saturn-induced miseries. Recommended to be worn on chest, forehead or right arm.

Gauri Shankar

Two naturally joined rudraksha, called Gauri Shankar, is regarded as the unified form of Shiva and Parvati. It brings peace and comfort to the family. It is also good for those who are into meditation.

Rudraksha of different mukhis are combined according to their properties to yield several powerful combinations.