L U D H I A N A   S T O R I E S


Urology workshop concludes
Tribune News Service

Ludhiana, November 9
The three-day 13th international live operative workshop and urology conference organised by the North Zone Chapter of the Urological Society of India concluded here today.
As many as 400 delegates from all over the world took part in the conference and discussed new techniques and advancements in the field of urology and transplants.

Giving details of the programme, Dr Aulakh said the special features included a video session which was chaired by Dr K.K. Sharma, Dr A.L. Bhat and Dr R.J. Singh. In the practitioners forum, six doctors held a discussion on the topic “ESWL: Coming of Age.”

Dr V.K. Mishra talked about “Patient Selection: How to predict results?” Dr S.K. Pal talked about, “In the lithotripsy suite: How to improve results?” Dr Ashok Sharma from Kota expressed his views on, “Failure of ESWL: monetary and legal aspects.” Dr Munir Khan spoke on the “Maintenance of ltihriptor.”

Dr Sameer Rai talked about “Post-treatment care” and Dr Vivek Khandelwal threw light on the “Comparison of available machines.”

This was followed by NZCUSICON 2003 Debate in which Prof S.K. Sharma was the moderator. The subject was “Acute urinary retention in patients of untreated carcinoma prostate—hormonal manipulation followed by catheter free trial is the choice of management.” The speakers at the debate were Dr Uttam Kumar Mete from Chandigarh and Dr Rajiv Sood from New Delhi.

After the debate, a free session on uro-oncology took place which was chaired by Brig P. Madhusoodanan, Prof Satish Jain, Dr Rajesh Ahlawat, Dr A.S. Bawa.

A free session on “Reconstructive urology” was held which was attended by Dr H.S. Asopa, Dr Uttam K. Mete, Dr Anil Madhani and Dr Ashok Gupta. 



Healthy baby show held
Our Correspondent

Ludhiana, November 9
The highlight of the healthy baby show organised here today by the Indian Association of Paediatrics at the Lions Bhavan was a 13-day-old baby, Ashleen Kaur, who was one of the participants in the age group 0 to 1 year. A large number of children had come to take part. Doctors checked the weight and history of the babies.


0-1 year: Sanimar Singh (1), Simar Saluja (2) and Kunwar Mehtab Singh (3);

1-2 years: Diwas (1), Tanav Singh (2) and Dilawar Singh (3); 2-3 years: Lakshay Jain (1), Misha Kalra (2) and Samiksha Sareen (3); 

3-4 years: Onkardeep Singh (1), Vaibhav Batra (2) and Shubham Munjal (3); and 

4 to 5 years: Hardiq Basant (1), Sheenu Palveen (2) and Abhinav Saggar (3).



School organises annual sports meet
Our Correspondent

Ludhiana, November 9
The annual sports meet was organised at GMT Senior Secondary Public School here today. The chief guest, Dr K.S. Aulakh, Vice-Chancellor, Punjab Agricultural University, appreciated the development of the institution and offered his best wishes to the students and staff. Mr S.T.P. Singh, Mr Rakesh Pandey, (Minister for Stationery and Printing, and Mr Bagga, a councillor, were guests of honour.

The function started with march past by different houses and was followed by the flag-hoisting and oath-taking ceremony. The students participated wholeheartedly in the events.

School director S.K.S. Thind conveyed his gratitude to the chief guest and other distinguished guests and parents. He said the students must inculcate the values of brotherhood and truthfulness.

Principal Heema Jassal expressed her views on the importance of co-curricular activities along with academics. She declared that from the next session, medical and humanities streams would be started in classes XI and XII.

The results of different contests are: K.G Block: Pre-Nursery (50m race): Pragti 1, Abhinav 2 and Divjot 3; Nursery (50m race): Section-A: boys: Amrinder Singh 1, Lovekaran 2 and Aakash 3; girls: Saloni 1, Harpreet Kaur 2 and Gurleen Kaur 3.

Section - B: boys: Ujwal 1, Vaibhav 2 and Kunal Kainth 3; girls: Amneet Kaur 1, Riya 2 and Divish 3; LKG (back race): section (A): boys: Vishal 1, Sunpreet Singh 2 and Sushant 3; girls (hurdle race): Simran 1, Shivani 2 and Diksha 3; section- B (back race): boys: Shubham Sandhu 1, Nikhil Tandon and Gurkirat Singh 3; girls (hurdle race): Surbhi 1, Mahvish Mehra 2 and Palak Sharma 3.

UKG (hurdle race): section- A (boys): Jaspinder Singh 1, Manish 2 and Abhinandan 3; girls (hok jump race): Dolly Singh 1, Kavita 2 and Amisha 3; UKG (section-B): boys (hurdle race): Shubham Arora 1, Navdeep Singh 2 and Gurkirat 3; girls (hok jump race): Sargun 1, Damanjet 2 and Yukta 3.

Group-C (long jump): boys: Taranjit 1, Rahul 2 and Navneet 3; girls: Parul 1, Tammana 2 and Harpreet Kaur 3; group-D (long jump): girls: Geeta 1, Pinky 2 and Kanica 3; boys: Jagdeep 1, Anil 2, Ashwani 3; group- D (shot put): boys: Rohan 1, Jagdeep 2, Sunil 3; girls: Sukhjit 1, Chinky 2, Heena 3.

Group-E (long jump): boys: Anmol 1, Ajay Sharma 2, Honey and Lakhwinder 3; group- E (shot put): Boys: Balwinder 1, Karamveer 2 and Mandeep 3; group- E (discus throw): Karamveer 1, Balwinder 2 and Anmol 3; group-E (javelin throw): Jaswinder 1, Karamveer 2 and Balwinder 3.

Group-E (long jump): girls: Manpreet and Amandeep 1, Ritika 2 and Inderpreet 3; group-E (shot put): girls: Nitika 1, Reena 2 and Baljinder 3; group-E (discus throw): girls: Simpy 1, Shilpa 2 and Manpreet 3. 


HOME PAGE | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Opinions |
| Business | Sports | World | Mailbag | Chandigarh | Ludhiana | National Capital |
| Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |