N C R   S T O R I E S


National Stadium win in Nehru Schools tourney
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, December 29
A stylish half century by Sahil Kher and deadly bowling by Tausheef Ahmad (4 for 13) helped National Stadium Cricket Centre defeat hosts Nehru Public School by 24 runs in the inaugural match of the Nehru Public School Under-15 Cricket Tournament at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium.

The tournament was inaugurated by Mr V K Shekhar. S P Dehat, Pramod Tyagi and Yogesh Choudhary were also present.

Scores: National Stadium: 128 for 3 in 25 overs (Sahil Kher 56, Samarth Singh 33, Hitesh Tyagi 2 for 35). Nehru School: 104 all out in 24.5 overs (Hitesh Tyagi 56, Tauseef Ahmad 4 for 13, Jasdeep Singh 3 for 13, Samarth Singh 2 for 15).

Jheel Khuranji win A devastating bowling spell of 4 for 25 by Abhinav Sharma helped Govt. School, Jheel Khuranji defeat Gyan Bharti South Delhi Cricket Academy by eight wickets in a league match of the fourth Shakuntala Devi Memorial Cricket Tournament at the Sumit Dogra Academy ground. Gyan Bharti scored 113 in 38.3 overs.

Scores: Gyan Bharati: 113 in 38.3 overs (Paramjeet Singh 40 n o, Abhinav Sharma 4 for 25, Lalit Gaur 3 for 26, Robin Rawat 2 for 10). Govt School, Jheel Khuranji: 116 for 2 in 26 overs (Rajiv Gupta 39 n o, Vivek Srivastava 29 n o, Naman Khanna 1 for 36).

SG sail into final

SG defeated Pan Business List and entered the final of the third Turf Twenty20 Cup Cricket Tournament. Scores: SG: 137 for 5 in 20 overs (Abhishek Singh 54, Hemant Kumar 20).

Pan Business List: 129 for 7 in 20 overs (Harinder Rawat 61, Prashant Lal 35, Mohit Sharma 3 for 19).

Ravi Brothers win

Ravi Brothers defeated Rehman Club by five wickets in an A-I Division match of the DDCA League at the Yamuna Complex ground.

Scores: Rehman Club: 174 for 8 in 35 overs (Adnan Ali 51, Shahzeb Nazvi 43, Ali-bin-Azhar 2 for 7). Ravi Brothers: 176 for 5 in 33.4 overs (Saurabh Tiwari 43 n o, Tushar Alekar 40 n o, Anil Jaryal 22, Adnan Ali 2 for 29).

ASPM Academy win

ASPM Academy, Punjabi Bagh defeated G D Goenka School by six wickets in the ASPM Under-13 Winter League Cricket Tournament at the SPM College ground. Scores: G D Goenka School: 141 (Geet Arora 57, Tanuj Kapoor 4 for 15, Himansu Sharma 2 for 25, Sunil Shokeen 2 for 24, Piyush Mehndirata 2 for 9).

ASPM Academy: 145 for 4 in 25 overs (Tanuj Kapoor 67 n o, Dheeraj Sharma 32, Parnoy 2 for 27).


Bangladesh pip India ‘A’ in C’wealth cricket
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, December 29
Bangladesh pipped India A by eight wickets in the Commonwealth Cricket Championship at the Tau Devilal Cricket Stadium at Gurgaon.

India A won the toss and opted to bat. But they batted at a slow and unsure pace and found the going tough in the face of sustained hostile bowling by Mehbullah and Saklain. India A crawled to 146 for 9 in 45 overs. In reply, the Bangladesh team raced to a convincing victory by posting 147 for 2 in 36.1 overs.

Uttam Kumar and Uttam Kumar Sarkar were involved in a 129-run second-wicket partnership, which clinched the match for the visitors. Uttam Kumar, who cracked an unbeaten 88, was given the man of the match award.

Scores: India A: 146 for 9 in 45 overs (Ian Dev 37, Gaurav Gambhir 29 n o, Tapan Jain 21, Mehbullah 3 for 24, Saklain 3 for 19).

Bangladesh: 147 for 2 in 36.1 overs (Uttam Kumar 88 n o, Uttam Kumar Sarkar 40).



Parimarjan Negi, Devangi emerge champs
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, December 29
Former Asian Under-10 champion Parimarjan Negi of Delhi annexed the National Under-11 Chess Championship when he defeated Shubham Pinge of Goa in the 11th and final round at the Bapu Samaj Sewa Kendra in New Delhi on Monday.

Parimarjan scored 9.5 points out of a possible 11 and was half a point clear of nearest contenders S P Sethuraman of Tamilnadu and Y Sandeep of Andhra Pradesh, who finished second and third, respectively.

Devangi Patankar of Maharashtra won the girls’ title after drawing with V Chaitanya of Andhra Pradesh in the ninth round, to total 7.5 points. G Madnasari of Andhra Pradesh took the second position while Bhakti Kulkarni of Maharashtra finished third.

Parimarjan Negi, assured of the title, played it cool in the final round with white pieces. Pinge came under time pressure after employing the French defence, and Negi gave no chance thereafter.

“We organised this event, hoping for Parimarjan’s success”, observed Delhi Chess Association secretary Bharat Chauhan.


Najafgarh Club down UK Cricket World
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, December 29
A deadly bowling spell of 5 for 28 by Amarjeet Singh and a useful knock of 41 by Kunal Dalal helped Najafgarh Sports Club defeat UK Cricket World by six wickets in the fifth R G Williams Memorial Under-15 Cricket Tournament at the Frank Anthony School ground.

Scores: UK Cricket World: 177 all out in 34.4 overs (Savinay Choudhary 59, Jagrit Anand 39, Amanjeet Singh 5 for 28, Mehtab Ali 3 for 18).

Najafgarh Club: 180 for 4 in 22 overs (Jitender Pal 35, Kunal Dalal 41, Sachin Aggarwal 2 for 57).

Jamia Millia enter semis

Adnan hit an unbeaten century (132) and Rashid played an all-round role, scoring 58 runs and taking two wickets for 16 runs, as Jamia Millia Islamia defeated Ram Lal Anand College by 204 runs and entered the semi-final of the Shaheed Bhagat Singh Inter-College Cricket Tournament at the Bhagat Singh College ground.

Scores: Jamia Millia: 304 for 5 in 35 overs (Adnan 132 n o, Rashid 58, Anuj Bhardwaj 51, Sumit 3 for 58). Ram Lal Anand: 100 for 3 in 35 overs (Sumit 32, Shashi Kant 30, Rashid 2 for 16).


Delhi beat Chandigarh in Vinoo Mankad Trophy
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, December 29
An all-round display by skipper Tarun Choudhary (3 for 33 and 35) and a sprightly knock of 46 by Yogesh Nagar helped Delhi defeat Chandigarh by six wickets in the final of the Vinoo Mankad Under-16 Cricket Tournament at the Bharat Nagar ground.

Assam defeated Haryana by two wickets to take the second position.

Scores: Chandigarh: 120 for 9 in 40 overs (Sumit Kumar 40, Anupam Gambhir 19, Tarun Choudhary 3 for 33).

Delhi: 122 for 4 in 30.4 overs (Jogesh Nagar 46, Tarun Chaudhary 35, Japneet Singh 2 for 17).

EIL get two points

EIL defeated MRPL by five wickets and collected two points in the PSPB Mini League Cricket Tournament at the Harbaksh Cricket Stadium.

Scores: MRPL: 101 all out in 20 overs (Harish Damodar 31, Sharath Budalf 20, Munish Jolly 3 for 16, Arun Dogra 2 for 13).

EIL: 102 for 5 in 15.2 overs (S Nagpal 25, Munish Jolly 27 n o, Chattar Singh 28 n o, Anand Hardi 2 for 16, Goutam Sethi 2 for 20).

HOME PAGE | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Opinions |
| Business | Sports | World | Mailbag | Chandigarh | Ludhiana | National Capital |
| Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |