N C R   S T O R I E S


Gyan Bharati Academy annex cricket crown
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, January 20
Gyan Bharati South Delhi Academy defeated United Delhi Academy by eight wickets to annex the Aviva Young Achiever Under-13 (two-day) Cricket Tournament. Abhishek Choudhary, who scored 113 for Gyan Bharati, was adjudged the man of the match.

Scores: United Delhi Academy (1st innings): 176 all out in 57.2 overs (Manav Sharma 76, Shubham Gupta 27, Kartikey Kaul 5 for 33, Ajay Chouhan 2 for 31, Rohan Rao 2 for 7) and second innings: 180 for 7 in 35.2 overs (Kunal Nagpal 99, Ashish Yadav 30, Varun Anand 21, Rohan Rao 2 for 17, Ajay Chouhan 2 for 40).

Gyan Bharati (1st innings): 259 for 8 in 87.3 overs (Abhishek Choudhary 113, Charanjeet Singh 24, Dishank Dhawan 25 n o, Ashish Yadav 3 for 64, Sidharth 3 for 51, Vikas Mishra 2 for 74). Second innings: 98 for 2 in 19.2 overs (Vidur Sethi 46 n o, Abhishek Choudhary 40).

CWC enter semi-final

Central Warehousing Corporation (CWC) defeated Dena Bank by 26 runs to enter the semi-final of the eighth Sahibzada Ajit Singh Cricket Tournament at the Guru Gobind Singh College ground. Scores: CWC: 174 for 9 in 40 overs (Lalit Yadav 50, Sanjay Saini 33, Vikas Vij 3 for 34, Kartar Nath 2 for 19, Joginder Singh 2 for 24).

Dena Bank: 148 all out in 38.1 overs (Sandeep Mor 43, Pradeep Gupta 38, Sumit Narwal 3 for 25, Rakesh Raman Jha 3 for 35).

Indian Airlines advance

Indian Airlines defeated Winsom Club by 40 runs in a Super A Division match of the DDCA League at the Palam II ground. Scores: Indian Airlines: 192 for 8 in 40 overs (Zeeshan-ul-Yareen 76 n o, Ashok Singh 37, Rahul Khanna 4 for 25). Winsom: 152 all out in 35.4 overs (Robin Bisth 35 n o, Harender Choudhary 3 for 40).

In another match, Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC) defeated Chand Khanna Club by 36 runs in a Super A Division match at the Palam I ground.

Scores: ONGC: 197 for 2 in 30 overs (Radhey Shyam Gupta 81 n o, Sunil Joshi 63 n o).

Chand Khanna: 161 all out in 26.4 overs (Gautam Gambhir 89, Amit Sharma 3 for 32, Sandeep Sharma 2 for 24, Firoz Ghyas 2 for 21).

Keshav Puram Club win

Keshav Puram Cricket Club defeated Mishar Club of Jammu by 62 runs in the President’s Estate Friendship Challenge League match. Scores: Keshav Puram: 193 for 7 in 25 overs (Bhola Shankar 59, Rajeev Sharma 57, Rajkishan Sharma 25, Rajesh Raina 2 for 26, Pushp 2 for 30, Vikram 2 for 33).

Milshar Club: 131 all out in 24.1 overs (Rajesh Raina 27, Vicky 22, Saheb 20, Rajeev Sharma 2 for 6, Adarsh Kumar 3 for 24, Daniel Saikia 2 for 22).

In another match, Bhatti Academy defeated Prachar Academy by four wickets. Scores: Prachar: 253 all out in 30 overs (Anurag Tyagi 72, Tarun Sharma 45, Karan 45, Sandeep Verma 3 for 22, Raman 2 for 34, Madan Raghav 2 for 37).

Bhatti Academy: 254 for 6 in 29 overs (Davender Singh 86, Sandeep Babloo 42, Suresh 34, Madan Raghavan 33, Ajit Singh 28, Sachin Saraswat 4 for 3).

Raveendra in semis

Raveendra School defeated Rosewood Club by 41 runs and entered the semi-final of the Rajeev Gandhi Memorial Under-17 Cricket Tournament at the Picknick Hut ground.

Scores: Ravindra School: 282 for 3 in 40 overs (Hemant Singh 139 n o, Sandeep Karki 81 n o, Vivek Goel 3 for 46).

Rosewood: 241 for 9 in 40 overs (Ravi Sengar 81, Vivek Goel 42, Anuj Jain 4 for 27, Sawej Khan 3 for 46).

R R Gymkhana win

Rohtak Road Gymkhana defeated Ramjas Dayboarding School by 196 runs in a league match of the RR Gym Inter-School Cricket Tournament.

In another match, St. Marks School, Meera Bagh defeated Model School by seven wickets. Scores: R R Gymkhana: 300 for 4 in 40 overs (Tarang Gupta 93, Saurabh Passi 73, Anmol Sharma 36, Simranjeet Singh 3 for 36).

Ramjas: 104 all out in 23.1 overs (Dhruv Kumar 36, Dilip Dhunna 4 for 25, Vishal Yadav 3 for 11).

Meera Model: 70 all out in 31.3 overs (Dharam Das 31, Sumit Dua 6 for 10, Harshull Kumar 3 for 3).

St. Marks: 70 for 3 in 21.1 overs (Vaibhav Khetrapal 31 n o).


Rashmeet, Radhika and Anchal emerge winners
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, January 20
Rashmeet Kaur, Radhika Babbar and Anchal Malhotra emerged winners in the girls section of the Indian Oil Badminton Talent Contest, organised by the Delhi Badminton Association (DBA), at the Indira Gandhi indoor stadium. The winners and runners-up in all the age groups have been selected for a scholarship scheme to be run by the DBA. In the Category I Girls Class III and IV final round, Rashmeet Kaur defeated Shreeya Suri 11-7, 11-8 while in the boys section, Subhanshu Wahi defeated Karan Mohan Gauba 15-4, 15-6. In the Category II girls Class V and VI final, Radhika Babbar defeated Harnam Kaur 11-0, 11-3 while in the boys section, Sahil Parekh beat Aakash Narang 15-9, 15-4. In the Category III girls Class VII and VIII final, Anchal Malhotra defeated Saloni Chopra 11-4, 11-1. In the boys section in the same group, Atul Chauhan defeated Jatin Ummat 17-16, 15-3.


Big win for Moti Bagh

New Delhi, January 20
Government Boys No 1 School, Moti Bagh scored a lop-sided 8-0 victory over Hanuman Sanskrit School, Raghubir Nagar in an under-17 match of the Kangaroo Cup Football Tournament at the Ambedkar Stadium on Tuesday. Kulbhushan stole the limelight, scoring four goals, while Kulshal Chetri, Anshul and Par Aung scored the other goals.

In another under-17 match, Apex School, Burari routed Laxman School, Hauz Khas 4-0 in Group A. D Kaithal, Suresh, Rajib Karmakar and Bimaan were the marksmen.

St. Columba’s School scored their first victory in the under-14 section when they defeated Govt. School, Moti Bagh 2-0 in Group A. Sidharth and Donald scored the goals in the 4th and 19th minute, respectively. OSR


Tableaux for R-Day

New Delhi: An eye-catching sports tableaux, with top sportspersons lending their charm to the float, will be one of the star attractions during the Republic Day Parade on January 26. Minister for Youth Affairs and Sports Vijay Goel informed that the theme of the tableaux would be “Go for Gold”.

Sports stars from various disciplines like hockey Olympians Dhanraj Pillay and Gagan Ajit Singh, athletes Anju Bobby George and K M Beenamol, shooter Anjali Ved Pathak, weightlifter Karnam Malleswari and sailor Tharapore would be some of the many sportspersons would be present at the float during the parade, which will be a novelty. OSR

HOME PAGE | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Opinions |
| Business | Sports | World | Mailbag | Chandigarh | Ludhiana | National Capital |
| Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |