M A I N   N E W S

Sukhbir to contest from Faridkot
Our Correspondent

Ferozepore, February 24
The SAD today announced the names of five more candidates from Punjab for the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections. Addressing mediapersons at the residence of former Cabinet minister, Mr Janmeja Singh Sekhon, SAD president Parkash Singh Badal announced the candidature of Mr Sukhbir Singh Badal from Faridkot, Mr Zora Singh Mann from Ferozepore, Mr Charanjit Singh Atwal from Phillaur, Mr Sharanjit Singh Dhillon from Ludhiana and Mr Sukhdev Singh Libra from Ropar.

He said the seats of Amritsar, Gurdaspur and Hoshiarpur had gone to the BJP who was likely to announce its candidates soon.

Regarding the banner of revolt raised by former Patiala MP, Mr Prem Singh Chandumajra, Mr Badal said no individual was above the party’s interest and indiscipline would not be tolerated.

About the former minister, Inderjit Singh Zira, he alleged that Mr Zira was hand in glove with Mr Ravi Inder Singh and was working on a secret pact with Capt Amarinder Singh to ensure the victory of the Congress.

Mr Badal said Mr Simranjit Singh Mann, Akali Dal (Amritsar) president, was also working on a “covert” agenda to benefit the Congress.

Later Mr Badal along with Akali and BJP leaders, addressed an “anti-repression” rally. Asserting that his party had faith in the Punjab police cadres, Mr Badal said few police officials who were dancing to the tunes of the Congress in the state just to get plum postings would not be spared when his party comes to power.

Mr Manpreet Singh Badal, MLA Gidderbaha, termed Capt Amarinder Singh as the Aurangzeb of today.

Mr Zora Singh Mann, former MP said various development works done during the tenure of Mr Atal Behari Vajpayee had no parallel.

He said Mr Vajpayee had brought glory and pride to the nation across the globe.

Amritsar: The denial of ticket to Mr Mahesh Inder Singh Grewal and Mr Manjit Singh Calcutta, main architects of Tohra-Badal unity, has caused resentment among loyalists of SGPC chief Gurcharan Singh Tohra. They were seeking ticket from Ludhiana and Tarn Taran, respectively.

Earlier, ticket was denied to Prof Prem Singh Chandumajra from Patiala. Prof Chandumajra and Mr Inderjit Singh Zira had hinted of opposing the official nominee from Patiala.

Tohra loyalists on condition of anonymity alleged that SAD chief Parkash Singh Badal had no respect for unity and had been backtracking on the understanding reached with Mr Tohra.

Mr Tohra was under pressure to persuade his confidant, Mr Sukhdev Singh Libra, who has been declared SAD candidate from Ropar, to withdraw from the contest.

Jalandhar: Admitting that talks with the BSP for forging a pre-poll alliance for the elections were over, SAD chief Parkash Singh Badal talking to reporters here on Tuesday, said the decision was final regarding the fielding of Capt Kanwaljit Singh from the Patiala Lok Sabha seat.

“We are in the process of pacifying Mr Prem Singh Chandumajra over the issue of denial of ticket to him and hopefully the matter would be resolved soon,” he said.

“The Prime Minister and the Deputy Prime Minister along with senior BJP leaders, including Mr Arun Jaitely, Ms Uma Bharti and Ms Sushma Swaraj will address SAD-BJP rallies,” he said.

HOME PAGE | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Opinions |
| Business | Sports | World | Mailbag | Chandigarh | Ludhiana | National Capital |
| Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |