N C R   S T O R I E S


Ram Charan Club beat Roop Nagar in DDCA League
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, March 3
Lala Ram Charan Club defeated Roop Nagar by 96 runs in an A-II Division match of the DDCA League at the University polo ground.

Scores: Lala Ramcharan Club: 216 all out in 30 overs (Rahul Suri 40, Shammi Wadhva 31, Ravi Kumar 2 for 16, Gaurav Sharma 2 for 15).

Roop Nagar: 120 all out in 25 overs (Ravi Lekhi 39 Shammi Wadhva 3 for 20, Devender Singh 2 for 13).

Gush Club beat Kranti Star by nine wickets in an A-II Division League at the University ground.

Scores: Kranti Star: 136 all out in 37 overs (Harvinder Singh 37, Nitin Punia 3 for 36, Harjinder Singh 2 for 21, Manik Wadhva 2 for 21).

Gush Club: 138 for 1 in 33 overs (Sabi Kukreja 86 n o, Nikhil Punia 40 n o).

Daryaganj Gymkhana defeated Golden Hawks by 12 runs in a Super A Division match at the Mohan Meakins ground.

Scores: Daryaganj Gymkhana: 210 for 8 in 40 overs (Jagdish Singh 54, Ashish Sharma 42, Kshitij Kumar 38, Vishal Tyagi 3 for 22, Rajesh Kumar 3 for 43).

Golden Hawks: 198 all out in 39.3 overs (Vivek Srivastava 62, Vishal Tyagi 50, Raju Grewal 3 for 29, Kapil Mehta 3 for 32).

United India defeated Delhi Colts by 83 runs in an A-I Division match at the RSC ground.

Scores: United India: 238 for 8 in 35 overs (Shiv Kumar 78, Naresh Kumar 47, Ketan Khari 37, Anirudha Tripathi 4 for 49, Harish Kumar 3 for 38).

Delhi Colts: 155 for 9 in 35 overss (Anirudha Tripathi 49, Naresh Kumar 4 for 14, Deepak Yadav 3 for 32).

Gaurav Saigal stars in Turf Cup

A strokeful half century by Gaurav Saigal (50, 7x4) and all-round performance by Prashant Pandey (32 n o and 3 for 18) helped G E Consumer Finance defeat ProAgro by 90 runs in a league match of the fourth Turf Corporate Cricket Challenge Tournament at the Guru Gobind Singh College ground at Pitampura.

Gaurav Saigal received the man of the match award, Sanja Baweja the best batsman award and Prashant Pandey got the best bowler award.

Scores: GECF: 215 for 7 in 25 overs (Gaurav Saigal 50, Ajay Shoukeen 48, Prashant Pandey 32 n o, Gulshan Kumar 3 for 16).

ProAgro: 125 for 8 in 25 overs (Sanjay Baweja 39, Prashant Pandey 3 for 18, Saurav Kumar 3 for 21, Nitin Singh 2 for 11).

Business Standard win

Business Standard defeated NDTV by 54 runs in the Teri Cup Cricket Tournament at the Central Secretariat ground. Scores: Business Standard: 213 for 6 in 25 overs (Chander Mohan 58, Amit Tomar 44, Rakesh Sharma 34, Yogesh 27, Rohit 3 for 29, Gautam 2 for 37). NDTV: 159 for 6 in 25 overs (Rahul 40, Gautam 29, Deepak Sharma 24, Sanjay 2 for 17).


12 GMs to play in Parsvnath Open Chess
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, March 3
Twelve Grand Masters (GMs) have confirmed their participation and two more are expected to give their nod in the second prize money Parsvnath International Open Chess Tournament to be held at the Bapu Samaj Sewa Kendra auditorium at Panchkuian Road, New Delhi, from March 10 to 18.

The tournament will have participants from 12 countries and around 250 players, including 12 GMs and 50 International Masters, will be for the top prize or Rs 1 lakh, out a total purse of Rs 4 lakh.

All eyes will be focussed on defending champion, GM R B Ramesh, who won this title in October 2003. Ramesh, in fact, got his third and final GM norm from this tournament, ahead of stalwarts like GMs Marat Dzhumaev of Uzbekistan, Alexander Fominyh of Russia and a host of Indian stars.

Among the foreign participants, GM Pavel Kotsur of Kazakhstan, GM Saidali Iuldashev and Safin Shukhrat of Uzbekistan, GM Georgy Timoshenko of Ukraine, GM Serik Temirbaev of Kazakhstan and GM Niaz Mureshed of Bangladesh, are the prominent entries.

Among the Indians, the players to be watched are Ganguly Dibyendu Barua, Praveen Thipsay, Koneru Humpy and Sandipan Chanda.

The tournament, organised by the Delhi Chess Association, is once again being sponsored by Parsvnath Developmers. Chairman of the company Pradeep Jain said Parsvnath will sponsor all the chess events in Delhi, including coaching camps.


UK Cricket World beat R P Academy, annex Under-15 cricket title
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, March 3
U K Cricket World defeated R P Academy by 89 runs to lift the second Shanti Gyan Niketan Under-15 Cricket Tournament at the Najafgarh ground.

Puneet Mehra was adjudged the best batsman, Shakti Singh the best bowler, Tejasvi Yadav the best all-rounder and Gagan Preet Singh the man of the match.

Scores: U K World: 213 for 3 in 35 overs (Gagan Preet Singh 86, Tejasvi Yadav 55, Harjinder Singh 2 for 21). R P Academy: 124 all out in 24 overs (Puneet Mehra 45, Vaibhav Rawal 51, Sachin Aggarwal 3 for 18, Tosif Majid 2 for 18).

E-Fund beat Hudco

E-Fund defeated Hudco by 60 runs in the 8th Suntan Cup Cricket Tournament at the Ramjas Sports Complex ground.

Scores: E-Fund: 161 all out in 25 overs (Rishi Singla 69, Parvinder Negi 45, Rajender Saxena 2 for 20, Suresh Negi 2 for 29, Godwin 2 for 23).

Hudco: 101 all out in 24 overs (Rajnesh Saxena 26, Mukesh Kumar 31, Vikas Sharma 4 for 31, Sanjay Joshi 3 for 2).

ITC record big win

ITC trounced KPMG by ten wickets in the Reebok Cricket Tournament at the Palam ground.

Scores: KPMG: 104 all out in 25 overs (Preet Singh 41, Sanjay Sharma 31, Shahank 3 for 13, Rishabh 2 for 13). ITC: 108 for no loss in 11.3 overs (Gokul Kaushik 62, Shashank 33).

Saroya runs to gold

J P Saroya of Punjab Zone clocked 2:19.0 secs to retain the gold in the 800-metre race of the PNB Inter-Zone Sports Meet Athletic Championship at the Karnail Singh Stadium on Wednesday.

Som Dutt of Himachal Zone and A Jalgan of Southern Zone took the second and third place, respectively.

East UP Zone claimed the best march trophy while Delhi Zone finished second.


Malhotra to head task force
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, March 3
The Government of India has constituted a ‘Task Force’ for considering the proposals from various sports federations seeking recognition of the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports.

The Task Force will be headed by All-India Council of Sports president V. K. Malhotra. Director-general of the Sports Authority of India will be the convenor with joint-secretary (sports) in the ministry and the secretary-general of the Indian Olympic Association as members.

Mr Malhotra said it was necessary to resolve all issues so that the new federations could get proper recognition and support to popularise their respective sports disciplines.


Goel fetes grapplers

New Delhi, March 3
Minister of State for Youth Affairs and Sports Vijay Goel today felicitated the wrestlers who won medals in Sophia (Bulgaria). The grapplers were presented mace and shawls. The honoured wrestlers included Yogeshwar Dutt, Anuj Chaudhary and Sushil Kumar.

DU Sports Awards

The Delhi University Sports Council will organise its annual sports awards function on Thursday at 3 pm at the Delhi University Sports Complex.

Vice-Chancellor of Delhi University Prof Deepak Nayar will be the chief guest. Prof M. C. Agrawal, chairman, Delhi University Sports Council, will preside over the function. OSR

HOME PAGE | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Opinions |
| Business | Sports | World | Mailbag | Chandigarh | Ludhiana | National Capital |
| Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |