N C R   S T O R I E S


Amritsar, Jalandhar Khalsa schools move up
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, April 9
GGS Khalsa School, Sarhali (Amritsar) defeated Doabha Khalsa Senior Secondary School, Jalandhar 4-2 in the second All-India Sahibzada Ajit Singh Gold Cup Hockey Tournament, organised by the Delhi Sikh Gurdwara Management Committee, at the National Stadium on Friday.

The winners led by 3-0 at half time. Surinder Singh scored the first goal in the fourth minute when he converted a penalty corner and also added the third goal in the 31st minute.

Varinder Kumar came up with the second goal in the 39th minute through a penalty corner while Manbir Singh hit home the winners’ fourth goal. Then, Jagjit Singh reduced the margin for the Doabha Khalsa School by scoring two quick goals.

In the second match, Lyallpur Khalsa Senior Secondary School, Jalandhar crushed Khalsa School, Bhatinda 9-0.

Jalmdhar, Varinderjit Singh (2), Vikramjit Singh (2), Jatinder Pal Singh, Pardeep Kumar, Jalwinder Singh, Gurpreet Singh and Sanjeev Kumar were the marksmen.

Saturday’s fixtures: SSBP Senior Secondary School, Faridkot vs GHPS, India Gate (9 am); Khalsa School, Ropar vs GHPS, Vasant Vihar (11 am); Khalsa College vs Lyallpur (1 pm)—National Stadium.



Sandeep Angurala, Pradeep Chawla shine
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, April 9
Dashing batting displays by Sandeep Angurala (44 n o, 4x4, 47b) and Pradeep Chawla (49, 2x6, 4x4, 46b) enabled Rohtak Road Gymkhana defeat Delhi Blues Club by 59 runs in the Om Nath Sood Memorial Cricket Tournament at the Sri Guru Gobind Singh College of Commerce ground, Pitampura. R R Gymkhana, who were 161 for 9 in 33 overs, were helped by a 48-run tenth-wicket partnership between Angurala and Vikas Dabas.

Sandeep Angurala was presented the Pepsi man of the match award.

Scores: R R Gymkhana: 209 in 38.3 overs (Pradeep Chawla 49, Sandeep Angurala 44 n o, Deepak Sharma 30, Nitin Thareja 5 for 31, Abid Khan 2 for 31, Ashwini Katyal 2 for 33).

Delhi Blues: 150 in 37.1 overs (Rameez Nemat 44, Mukesh Dewan 28, Nitin Goel 31, Vivek Khurana 3 for 27, Sandeep Angurala 2 for 22, Gurmeet Singh 1 for 7).



Ganga School record handsome victory 
in Joshi Hockey 
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, April 9
Ganga School trounced S S Mota Singh Senior Secondary School, Janakpuri 6-0 in the opening match of the first D P Joshi Memorial Inter-School Invitational Hockey Tournament at the Shivaji Stadium on Friday. Ganga led by 5-0 at half time.

In a totally one-sided match, Ashok opened the account for Ganga School in the 10th minute when he converted a penalty corner. A minute later, Yudhveer scored a field goal to add the second goal. He scored two more goals while Sanjeev Kumar accounted for the last two goals.



Mohsin, Puneet power DPS to victory
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, April 9
A dashing knock by Mohsin Kamal (81, 10x4, 2x6) and all-round display by Puneet Walia (32, 3 for 25) helped Delhi Public School (DPS), Mathura Road defeat Don Bosco School by 134 runs in the opening match of the second Turf Youth Cup Inter-School Under-15 SG Cricket Tournament at the DPS ground. Karandeep Singh was named the SG man of the match award while Mohsin Kamal and Dhruv Goswami received the best batsman and best bowler award respectively.

Scores: DPS: 279 for 7 in 50 overs (Mohsin Kamal 81, Karandeep Singh 51, Pranav Kumar 44, Puneet Walia 32, Dhruv Goswami 4 for 24). Don Bosco: 145 all out in 42.5 overs (Bal Preet Singh 34, Mukul Aggarwal 30, Puneet Walia 3 for 25, Karandeep Singh 2 for 25).

Poorvi Delhi Academy win

Poorvi Delhi Cricket Academy defeated Hansraj Model School by seven wickets in a league match of the DAV Cricket Tournament.

Scores: Hansraj: 185 all out in 38 overs (Saurabh Passi 60, Anmol Sharma 36, Himanshu Saili 3 for 41, Rahul Agnihotri 3 for 23).

Poorvi Delhi: 186 for 3 in 37.2 overs (Chetan Bisht 80 n o, Neeraj Tiwari 41, Gaurav Bisht 33, Dhruv Talwar 3 for 35).

Madan Lal Academy beat Hari Nagar

Madan Lal Academy defeated Hari Nagar Sports Complex by 67 runs in the West Delhi Academy Under-12 Cricket Tournament.

Scores: MLA: 215 for 3 in 25 overs (Samarth Singh 75, Sahej Khanna 37, Sanjeev Dheer 37). Hari Nagar: 148 all out in 22.4 overs (Pulkit Singh 36, Karan Singh 30, Sanjeev Dheer 4 for 25, Dig Vijay Singh 3 for 18).



Jayaprasad guides Teri to semi-final
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, April 9
P V Jayaprasad played a brilliant all-round role to guide Teri to the semi-final, defeating G E Capital by five runs, in the 11th Teri Cup Cricket Tournament at the Teri Oval.

Scores: Teri: 185 for 7 in 25 overs (P V Jayaprasad 37, 3x4, 2x6; Mahesh 36, 4x4; Anurag Pandey 25, 2x4, 1x6; K P Eashwar 33, 2x4; Rodney Charles 3 for 14).

G E Capital: 180 for 8 in 25 overs (Manmohan 44 n o, 4x4; Arijit 38, 3x4; Surender 36, 3x4; Joginder Singh 33, 4x4; P V Jayaprasad 3 for 28). Jayaprasad was named the man of the match.

Rameez Niyamat, Maninder shine

Fine batting by Rameez Niaymat (74 n o, 8x4, 2x6) and south-paw Maninder Singh (69 n o) helped Delhi Blues defeat Air Sahara by seven wickets in the ARBDM Cricket Tournament at the Nehru Stadium. Rameez was given the man of the match award.

Scores: Sahara: 179 all out in 38.1 overs (Kapil Mehta 31, Ravi Kant Sharma 30, Deepak Bhatnagar 29, Mukesh Diwan 4 for 24, Sachin Jain 3 for 28, Jitin Thareja 2 for 44).

Delhi Blues: 181 for 3 in 37.2 overs (Rameez Niyamat 74 n o, Maninder 69 n o, Dinesh Yadav 3 for 24).

Jaideep shines

An all-round display by Jaideep Chaudhary (51 and 3 for 29) and deadly bowling by Sandeep Kumar (3 for 29) helped R P Academy defeat Rohtak Road Gymkhana by 23 runs and entered the final of the R C Sharma Memorial Under-17 Trophy Cricket Tournament at the Bharat Nagar ground.

Scores: R P Academy: 153 all out in 39.1 overs (Jaideep Choudhary 51, Sandeep Kumar 37, Gaurav Jangra 3 for 29, Ravinder Pawar 3 for 19).

RR Gymkhana: 130 all out in 37.3 overs (Rohit Sharma 30, Sidhant Mandley 30, Jaideep Choudhary 3 for 29, Sandeep Kumar 3 for 31, Puneet Mehra 2 for 9).



Delhi Police beat Golden Hawks in DDCA League
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, April 9
Delhi Police defeated Golden Hawks by four wickets in a Super A Division match of the DDCA League at the University ground.

Scores: Golden Hawks: 146 all out in 33.5 overs (Vishal Sharma 29, Rajesh Tyagi 3 for 19, Sanjay Verma 3 for 30).

Delhi Police: 150 for 6 in 22.1 overs (Sanjay Verma 66, Rajesh Sharma 41 n o, Pradeep Maan 3 for 9, Vishal Sharma 2 for 46).

Times of India defeated Central Bank by nine wickets in an A-I Division match at the Delhi University-II ground.

Scores: Central Bank: 181 for 9 in 35 overs (Nitin Goel 39, Sunny Singh 39, Bantoo Singh 35, Vijay Kumar 4 for 35). TOI: 185 for 1 in 29 overs (Sudhir Giri 98 n o, Ajay Nagia 41 n o).

Anand Sports defeated Young Delhi by 85 runs in an A-II Division match at the Khalsa College ground.

Scores: Anand Sports: 233 for 6 in 35 overs (Ayush Mohan Sharma 48, Satvinder 39, Naresh Dhaka 38, Amit Prakash 2 for 35).

Young Delhi: 148 all out in 30.1 overs (Rama Shankar 33, Chetan Bhatia 31, Vikas Sharma 3 for 21, Viksa Rathi 3 for 31). Canara Bank beat Oriental Bank of Commerce by 59 runs in an A-II Division match at the RSC ground.

Scores: Canara Bank: 180 for 9 in 33.3 overs (Vijay Singh 54, Harmesh Talwar 32, B S Chauhan 32, Chandan Singh 2 for 26, Dhanpat 2 for 31).

OBC: 121 all out in 28.2 overs (Vivek Sharma 30, S K Sharma 29, Rajesh Sharma 4 for 20, Jai Singh Bisht 4 for 31).


HOME PAGE | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Opinions |
| Business | Sports | World | Mailbag | Chandigarh | Ludhiana | National Capital |
| Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |