L U D H I A N A   S T O R I E S


Bhandari is teachers’ body chief 
Our Correspondent

Ludhiana, May 2
Prof V.K. Bhandari of Arya College, Ludhiana, a candidate of the Brar-Jugwant group defeated Prof Jagmohan Singh, a candidate of the Hundal-Tiwari group by a margin of 26 votes, and was elected president of the Punjab and Chandigarh College Teachers’ Union. A total of 78 votes were polled.

Prof Rohit Kumar of the Brar-Jugwant group was elected secretary of the council unopposed. The outgoing district president, Dr Parminder Singh, said going against the constitution of the PCCTU yesterday, Hundal and Tiwari had de-franchised four elected delegates of Arya College, Ludhiana.

Mr R.S. Brar, candidate for the office of the president, and Dr Jugwant Singh, candidate for the office of the general secretary, who were in the city to canvass for the state elections to be held on May 16 at Lyalpur Khalsa College, Jalandhar, claimed the results of the major districts like Ludhiana, Amritsar, Chandigarh, Gurdaspur and Ferozepore were in favour of the Brar-Jugwant group.



Inter-school painting contest 
Our Correspondent

Ludhiana, May 2
An inter-school painting competition was organised at NIIT here.
Students from DAV Public School BRS Nagar, DAV Public School, Sarabha Nagar extension, GNIPS, Model Town, GNIPS, BRS Nagar, Baba Ishar Singh N. Senior Secondary School and Sacred Heart High School, BRS Nagar, participated in the contest.

An exhibition was also organised at the NIIT centre, Ferozepore road, today.

Ms Sumedha Monga, Head of the Department of Fine Arts, DD Jain College, and Ms Neelu, lecturer in fine arts, DD Jain College, were the judges.

The results: Category I — Parag (DAV Public School, Class VI) 1; Satwant Jeet Kaur (GNIPS, Model Town, Class VI) 2; Jaspreet Kaur (GNIPS, Model Town, Class VI) 3; and Chirag Jain (DAV Public School, Class VI) 4.

Category II — Ruchika (DAV Public School, Class VII) 1; Deepinder Kaur (Sacred Heart High School, Class VIII) 2; Bikramjeet Kaur (Sacred Heart High School, Class VII) 3; Gurjot Saund (DAV Public School, Class VII) 4.

Category III — Harjot Singh (GNIPS, Model Town, Class X) 1; Apurva (DAV Public School, Class IX) 2; Kirandeep Kaur (GNIP, Model Town, Class IX) 3.

Category IV — Jivtesh Singh (Sacred Heart High School, Class XII) 1; Arun Kumar (DAV Public School, Class XI) 2; Harsheen Kaur (Sacred Heart High School, Class XI) 3.


HOME PAGE | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Opinions |
| Business | Sports | World | Mailbag | Chandigarh | Ludhiana | National Capital |
| Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |