N C R   S T O R I E S


Delhi Blues cricket team to tour UK
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, May 19
The Delhi Blues Cricket Club team will tour England from July 24 to August 21. The team will be led by former Test player Vivek Razdan. The Delhi Blues team have been undertaking such cricket tours to the United Kingdom for the past few years, and many of the regulars of the club have graduated to play higher grade of cricket at national and international level.

Delhi Blues Club president Gurcharan Singh said the club undertake tour to UK every alternate year, on a reciprocal basis with teams from UK also touring India. He said the Blues would visit UK this time at the invitation of the Leicester Bank’s Cricket Club, and would play 20 matches against various club teams. Six matches will be played in Delhi, nine matches at Leicester and five at Leeds (Yorkshire).

Gurcharan Singh said the Middlesex University (London) team would provide free accommodation to the players in London while other arrangements like transport etc would be made by Hirenge Council of London.

The team is: Vivek Razdan (captain), Robin Singh, Gursharan Singh, Sachin, Mukesh Diwan, Yogesh Sachdeva, Raja Sharma, Dhanraj Singh, Sandeep Joshi, Someshwar Sharma, Anuj Nayyar, Ankit Kayastha, Surjit Singh Bedi, Anand Kumar Gupta, Mayank Sethi, Amitoze Singh, Lakshya Mohan, Shreya Gupta, Sukhjit Singh Gupta, Hardik Ahuja, Himanshu Dhall, Deepak Monga, Watan Yadav, Jagpreet Singh, Amandeep Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Anurag Chopra, Abid Khan, Arif Hussain, Praveen Dhingra, Shashank Chauhan and Vikas Sharma, Tervinder Pal Singh (coach) and S K Nayyar (manager).


Gayatri, Tanvir Gill annex badminton titles
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, May 19
Gayatri Mendiratta defeated Vanshika 11-8, 11-3 to annex the women’s singles title while Tanvir Gill defeated Manish Rawat 15-7, 15-5 to bag the men’s singles crown in the Cosco Prize Money Delhi Open Badminton Tournament at the Karnail Singh Stadium on Wednesday.

Former Asian champion Dinesh Khanna gave away the prizes.

Following are the other results (all finals): Girls under-10: Rashmeet Kaur beat Prarthana Narayan 11-7, 11-5; Boys under-10: Hridhyanshu Bhargava b Shubhabshu Wahi 15-4, 15-6; Girls under-13: Jhankar Aggarwal b Shreya Aggarwal 9-11, 11-7, 11-6; Boys under-13: Bharat Bajaj b Jatin 15-6, 15-10; Girls under-16: Meenakshi b Akansha 11-7, 13-11; Boys under-16: Parit Bargava b Guranshu Chopra 15-2, 15-9; Girls under-19: Mohita Sahdev b Nashika 9-11, 11-9, 13-11; Mayank Garg got walk over from Himanshu Kharbanda in the boys under-19 final.


Siddharth, Kunal share lead in junior golf
Our Correspondent

New Delhi, May 19
The second day of the four-day Japyee Greens Junior/Sub-Junior Golf Championship, an Indian Golf Union (IGU) categorized season opener tournament for Merit List purpose, witnessed participation from over 100 enthusiastic golfers, including 22 from category `D’ (under 10 years), at the Jaypee Greens golf course at Greater Noida today.

On the second day, under category `A’ Siddharth Arora turned the table on day one’s leader Anirban Lahiri and emerged joint leader with Kunal Balhara with a two-day total score of 152. Akshay Butta came from behind to finish second submitting a scorecard of 153, closely followed by Karan Vasudeva with a score of 154.

Under category `B,’ the top three leaders maintained their supremacy over others by their good display on the second consecutive day. Amanjyot Singh maintained his lead with a score of 151 while Fatehbir Dhaliwal and Rahul Bakshi also held on to their second and third place positions with scores of 160 and 162 respectively.

For category `C’ Rommel Majumder consolidated his lead of first day with a score of 166. Ajay pipped Bhawani Rathore for the second position with a score of 168 while Khalin Joshi improved his game to score 170 for the third position.

Under Category `D’ the `wonder boy’ Viraat Badhwar cleared ahead of the field with a score of 85. Ankur Chaddha and Rahul Ravi came joint second with an identical score of 90.

Dhruv Sachdeva finished third with the scorecard of 93.

According to IGU rules, cut was applied at 50 per cent and ties in each category except category `D’, thus there will be 16 golfers in Category `A’, 13 in category `B’, 12 in category `C’ and all 22 in category `D’ playing tomorrow and day after- the last two days of the four day event.


Rahul Belwal moves up in AITA talent contest
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, May 19
Rahul Belwal defeated Nikhunj Siwach 9-6 to move up in the boys under-18 section of the AITA Talent Contest Series at the Roshanara Club courts.

In other matches of the same age group, Akshay Kohli defeated Reshab Relan 9-5, Dhruv Gurwara beat Vijay Siwach 9-7 and Tushar Jagota beat Tanuj Keshwani 9-4.

Following are the other results (all boys): Under-14: Partik Bhambri b Kunal Raj Barva 9-5, Shikhar Kapoor b Reshab Kumar 9-0; Shantanu Rajpoot b Aditya Gurwara 9-1 and Kshitiz Kamal b Reshab Relan 9-7. Under-14 doubles: Akshay Jain and Raghav Mittal b Kshitiz Bhatia and Arjun Gupta 9-5. Under-18: Raghav Sarin and Aman Puri b Yajoor Kapoor and Vedant Kapoor 9-1.

National Women’s Hockey in Bangalore

The 35th Junior Women’s National Hockey Championship will be held at Bangalore from June 3 to 12. Players born on or after 1-1-1985 can contact Dr Sudarshan Pathak, secretary, Delhi Women’s Hockey Association, or coach Gian Chand at Room No 103, National Stadium, New Delhi on May 22 at 3 pm.


Meera Model, Tagore Public advance in Summer League
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, May 19
Meera Model School defeated Saraswati Bal Mandir by 51 runs in the Cambridge Foundation Under-19 Summer League Cricket Tournament on the Rajouri Garden ground.

Scores: Meera Model: 187 all out in 29.2 overs (D Sridhar 63, Robin Honda 30, Pankaj Walia 4 for 29, Amit Bakshi 3 for 20, Shankar Malhotra 3 for 35). Saraswati Bal Mandir: 136 all out in 24.3 overs (Parvesh Chouhan 46, Saurabh Sharma 33, Rajat Bhatia 4 for 20, Abhishek Khurana 3 for 21).

In another match, Tagore Public School defeated Shanti Cricket Academy by 98 runs.

Scores: Tagore Public School: 278 for 8 in 30 overs (Kshitij Bhardwaj 86, Varun Khetrapal 64, Jatin Aneja 35, Abhishek Thakur 4 for 44, Vishal Kumar 3 for 29). Shanti Academy: 180 all out in 22.5 overs (Suaib Prasad 57, Praveen Pawar 44, Jagmeet Singh 5 for 34).

S G Sports beat Air Sahara

S G Sports defeated Air Sahara by eight wickets in the Goswami Ganesh Dutt Memorial Cricket Tournament on the Khalsa College ground.

Scores: Air Sahara: 157 all out in 37 overs (Mohd Atiq 32, Ajeet Chandela 21, Saurabh Saxena 2 for 1, Farman Ahmad 2 for 35, Tony Singh 2 for 37). S G Sports: 158 for 2 in 20 overs (Rajeev Uniyal 69, Ramat Ealahi 61 n o, Dinesh Yadav 1 for 15, Umesh Choudhary 1 for 33).

Delhi Armed Police win

Delhi Armed Police defeated Rajdhani Club by one wicket in the I D Paul Memorial Cricket Tournament on the Apex Public School ground.

Scores: Rajdhani Club: 230 all out in 24.5 overs (Vikas Choudhary 53, Ramit Gill 44, Anil Tiwari 44, Ajay Kumar 3 for 19, Gaurav Sharma 3 for 39). Delhi Armed Police: 234 for 9 in 24.3 overs (Sunil Kumar 53, M A Khan 51, Ashwani Kumar 30, Subodh Kumar 4 for 50, Rajvir Singh 2 for 3).

Puneet Walia shines

An all-round performance by Puneet Walia (3 for 15 and 59) helped R P Academy defeat U K Cricket World by nine wickets in a league match of the first Hari Singh Choudhary Memorial Under-13 Cricket Tournament at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium. Puneet was named the man of the match.

Scores: U K Cricket World: 115 for 7 in 32 overs (Neel Dabral 37, Akash Yadav 27, Puneet Walia 3 for 15). RP Academy: 118 for 5 in 28 overs (Puneet Walia 59).

HOME PAGE | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Opinions |
| Business | Sports | World | Mailbag | Chandigarh | Ludhiana | National Capital |
| Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |