C H A N D I G A R H   S T O R I E S


70 donate blood
Our Correspondent

Zirakpur, July 4
As many as 70 persons donated blood at a camp jointly organised by the Baba Farid Blood Donors Council, Mohali, and the Daulat Singhwala Sports and Youth Club, Bhabhat, in Bhabhat village near here, today.

On the occasion, Mrs Jaswant Kaur, president of the council, and her husband Mr Balwant Singh, celebrated their 24th wedding anniversary by donating blood 41st time each. Besides the refreshment, the donors were also given mementos.

Earlier, Mr Narinder Sharma, president of the Zirakpur Nagar Panchayat, inaugurated the camp and appealed the gathering to contribute in this noble cause.



TT title for Sunil, Anu
Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, July 4
Sunil Ahuja of Haryana and Anu of Jalandhar won the men single and women single title, respectively, in the 2nd Kishan Lal Arya Memorial T.T. Tournament at the Sector 23, Table Tennis Hall here today. In the men single final Sunil beat the upcoming player Dev in four straight games. Women single final Anu the 2nd seeded upset Nadia Saini the top seeded by 4-1.

Boys single (final): Anshul of UP beat Hitesh Dogra of PSPBA, Ajmer 4-1. Dev Saini, of Petroleum Sports Promotion Board Academy, Ajmer, created a major upset by out classing Dheeraj Arora seed no 1 and two-time state champion in the men quarterfinal 4-2. Dev Saini started dominating the reigning state champion right from the first game in which he won 11-8. The next three games were neck and neck 2-2.

In the semifinal, he once again played a long match and won the semifinal against his senior player Harpreet Singh in a well-contested match 4-3 and qualified for the men singles final.

The results are as under:

Semifinals: Nadia Saini (DAVPS-8) b Meghna (DAVS-8) (11-9, 11-6, 11-8, 11-4); Manisha (Patiala) b Sunanda Mahindra (DAVPS-8) (11-6, 11-1, 11-5, 6-11, 11-9).

Final: Nadia Saini (DAV Public School, Sector 8) b Manisha (Patiala) (11-7, 13-11, 11-2, 7-11, 11-7).

Semifinals: Anshul (UP) b Prateek Gupta (Pkl) 11-4, 11-4, 8-11, 9-11, 11-4, 11-8); Hitesh Dogra (PSPBA) b Gaurav Sharma (Asr) ( 11-5, 11-8, 10-12, 11-8, 7-11, 9-11, 11-4). Final: Anshul (UP) b Hitesh (PSPBA) (11-8, 11-3, 11-8, 11-13, 11-5).

Semifinals: Nadia Saini (DAVPS-8) b Risul (Jalandhar) ( 11-5, 12-10, 11-8, 11-4); Anu (Jalandhar) b Gurwinder (AG.Pb) (11-9, 11-9, 11-3, 11-7).

Final: Anu (Jalandhar) b Nadia Saini (DAVPS-8) (8-11, 11-6, 11-8, 11-2, 11-8).

Semifinals: Sunil Ahuja (Haryana) b Disney (PU) (11-5, 10-12, 11-5, 11-9, 11-8); Dev Saini (PSPBA) b Harpreet Singh (9-11, 8-11, 13-11, 11-8, 11-7, 9-11, 11-7).

Final: Sunil Ahuja (Haryana) b Dev Saini (Petroleum Sports Promotion Board) (11-8, 11-6, 11-7, 11-8).


HOME PAGE | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Opinions |
| Business | Sports | World | Mailbag | Chandigarh | Ludhiana | Delhi |
| Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |