L U D H I A N A   S T O R I E S


Conference on paediatrics today
Our Correspondent

Ludhiana, August 28
Dayanand Medical College and Hospital (DMCH) will organise a CME and Conference of Indian Academy of Paediatrics (IAP), Punjab state branch at Dumra Auditorium here tomorrow.

According to Dr B.K. Jain, organising chairman and Professor and Head, Department of Paediatrics at DMCH, 200 paediatricians from all over the region would take part. Dr O.N. Bhakoo, former Head of Paediatrics, PGI, Chandigarh, would be the chief guest.

Dr Daljit Singh, Principal of the DMCH and Professor in the Department of Paediatrics said the CME would attempt to clarify issues, posing a problem for paediatrician. The sensitive topic like use of new treatment methodologies and medicines would also be discussed.

Dr Nitin K. Shah from Mumbai would deliver a talk on “Approach to a child with HIV/AIDS”, Dr Sunit Singhi from Chandigarh would speak on “Evaluation of a child in emergency”, Dr B.R. Thapa will throw light on the “Practical Management of Chronic Liver Disease” and Dr A.P. Dubey from New Delhi will discuss the “Recent advances in immunisation.”



KVM cricketers are champions
Our Sports Reporter

Ludhiana, August 28
After emerging champions in the u-16 category, it was the turn of boys u-14 of Kundan Vidya Mandir School, Civil Lines, to come out triumphant in the final of the PAU Zone Cricket Tournament played at Government Model Senior Secondary School here today.

Yesterday, KVM lads had defeated SDP Senior Secondary School by four wickets in the u-16 final. Today, in the u-14 years category, KVM School cricketers overwhelmed the hosts by nine wickets.

Batting first after winning the toss, Government Model Senior Secondary School, PAU, were restricted to a modest total of 70 runs for the loss of seven wickets in the allotted 20 overs.

Only two batsmen, Jeewanjot (12) and Rahul (10), could make it to the double figure while Akshay contributed five runs.

For Kundan Vidya Mandir School, Shubham and Gagan took two wickets each, conceding 10 and 12 runs, respectively. Shivam (1 for 11) and Abhinav (1 for 15) were the other two successful bowlers.

Geetansh Khaira and Gagan enabled Kundan Vidya Mandir School to score 71 runs after losing just one wicket in 14 overs. Geetansh and Gagan remained not out on 51 and 12 runs, respectively.

Inter-school games: DAV Public School, BRS Nagar, excelled in volleyball in the Gill zone inter-school games played at different venues here yesterday. In the boys (under-14 and under-17 years), DAV School beat Nanakana Sahib School while in the under-19 years category, Nanakana Sahib School avenged their defeat outplaying DAV School.

In handball, (under-14), DAV School beat BCM Arya Model Senior Secondary School, Shastri Nagar while in the under-17, DAV School beat Government School, Ghawadi, and in the under-19 years category, Guru Nanak Public School beat Government Senior Secondary School, Baddowal.

In kabaddi, Government Middle School, Jassar, beat Government School, Khanpur, and Government High School, Harnampur beat Government Hight School, Dullo Kalan. In the under-19 category, Government Senior Secondary School, Khanpur beat Government School, Sangowal.

In football (under-14), Sacred Heart Convent School, Sarabha Nagar beat GTB School Dakha. In the under-17, Government High School, Gill, beat Guru Nanak School and in under-19 Sacred Heart School, Sarabha Nagar beat Sacred Heart School, BRS Nagar.

Cricket tourney: A fine all-round performance by Neeraj (30 runs and 3 wickets for 4) and accurate bowling by Yogesh (4 for 5) helped Saraswati Model School to record 10-wicket win on Government Middle School, Haibowal Khurd, in the first Sanjeev Kaushik Memorial Cricket Tournament (under-14) at the Bachan Singh Academy ground Hambran Road here today.

In reply to Government Middle School’s score of 55 all out, Saraswati Model School made 56 for no loss in 10 overs.

Brief scores: Government Middle School — 55 all out ( Harish Maini 16; Yogesh 4 for 5 and Neeraj 3 for 4).

Saraswati Model School — 56 for no loss (Neeraj 30 n.o. and Karan 14 n.o.).

In the second match, Nav Bharti Public School conceded as many as 42 extras, as Government Senior Secondary School, Haibowal Khurd, romped home victorious by seven runs.

Batting first, Government Senior Secondary School were out for 94 runs in 20 overs with main contributions coming from Nirmal Sharma (15), Munish (12) and Ram Singh (8), besides 42 extras.

Government School bowlers did a commendable job by restricting Nav Bharti Public School to 87 runs in the last over of the match.

Brief scores: Government School, Haibowal Khurd — 94 all out (Nirmal 15, Munish 12, Ram Singh 8; Happy 2 for 17 and Rajeev Shukla 2 for 9).

Nav Bharti Public School — 87 all out (Piyush Lekhi 30 n.o., Rajeev Shukla 19, Ashish 22; Som Nath 1 for 15).


HOME PAGE | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Opinions |
| Business | Sports | World | Mailbag | Chandigarh | Ludhiana | Delhi |
| Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |