M A I N   N E W S

Counting of votes today
Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, June 4
The votes cast in the byelections in the three Assembly constituencies of Killoi, Tosham and Hisar in Haryana on June 2, will be counted tomorrow. The process will begin at 8 a.m.

The counting will be held at the district headquarters of these constituencies. Elaborate arrangements have been made for the counting of votes of the Killoi constituency at Rohtak, the Tosham constituency at Bhiwani and at Hisar where the polled electronic voting machines have been kept in strongrooms under tight security.

The fate of 23 candidates, including the Chief Minister, Mr Bhupinder Singh Hooda, sealed in the voting machines, will be decided tomorrow by noon when the first result is expected.

The maximum number of 12 candidates are in the fray from Hisar, followed by Killoi (six) and Tosham (five).

Mr Hooda, who is currently an MP from Rohtak, contested as the Congress candidate from the Killoi seat which was vacated by Shri Krishan Hooda to pave the way for the election of the Chief Minister to the state Assembly. He is facing Mr Azad Singh Atri of the INLD and four Independent candidates.

The Tosham and Hisar seats fell vacant following the death of Agriculture Minister Surender Singh and Power Minister O.P. Jindal, respectively, in a helicopter crash on March 31 near Saharanpur.

Mrs Kiran Chaudhary, widow of Surender Singh, and Mrs Savitri Jindal, widow of O.P. Jindal, are the Congress nominees from Tosham and Hisar, respectively. Mrs Chaudhary is a daughter-in-law of a former Chief Minister, Mr Bansi Lal.

The INLD is contesting only from Killoi and has not put up candidates for the other two seats.


HOME PAGE | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Opinions |
| Business | Sports | World | Mailbag | Chandigarh | Ludhiana | Delhi |
| Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |