M A I N   N E W S

Gurgaon DC, SP shifted
Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, August 3
The Haryana Government today shifted the DC and SP of Gurgaon as an aftermath of the violent clashes between the striking employees of Honda Motorcycle and Scooters India (HMSI) and the police in that town on July 25.

The Chief Minister, Mr Bhupinder Singh Hooda, had announced on July 27 that the DC, Mr Sudhir Rajpal, and the SP, Mr Yoginder Singh Nehra, would proceed on leave when the G.C. Garg commission of Inquiry would start functioning. The Garg commission had been set up to look into various aspects of the Gurgaon violence.

While new incumbents have been appointed in place of Mr Rajpal and Mr Nehra, they have not been given new places of posting. It is not known if the two officers have proceeded on leave.

Mr R.P. Bhardwaj, Deputy Commissioner, Panipat, has been posted as Deputy Commissioner of Gurgaon as well as the Chief Administrator, Sri Mata Sheetla Devi Shrine Board, Gurgaon, vice Mr Rajpal.

Mr Hanif Qureshi, SP, Jhajjar, will be the new SP of Gurgaon.

Mr D.P.S. Nagal, awaiting posting orders, has been posted as Deputy Commissioner, Panipat. Mrs Neerja, Deputy Commissioner, Mewat, will also look after the work of the Chief Executive Officer, Nuh, vice Mr P.R. Vishnoi, who has been posted as Additional Director, HIPA, Gurgaon, against a vacant post.

The government also transferred the SP of Sirsa. Mr. Ajay Singhal, ADIG, CID, will the new SP of Sirsa vice Mr K.K. Rao, who goes as SP, Jhajjar. With the shifting of Mr Rao, both the DC and the SP of Sirsa, posted immediately after the Hooda government came to power, have been transferred out of the district.

HOME PAGE | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Opinions |
| Business | Sports | World | Mailbag | Chandigarh | Ludhiana | Delhi |
| Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |