Wednesday, February 1, 2006

Fortnightly Quiz-251

1 Name the only bowler in cricket history to have claimed a hat-trick in the first over of a Test match.

2 Name NASA’s spacecraft that will probe the hitherto unexplored planet Pluto.

3 Which airline recently announced the acquisition of Air Sahara to make it the country’s largest airline?

4 Which neighbouring country of India recently made aviation history when it flew its first passenger plane with a woman pilot and all -woman crew?

5 Which premier management institute of the country has expansion plans in Singapore and other countries?

6 Who will take oath as the new Chief Minister of Karnataka?

7 What is the full form of MRTPC?

8 In which year was the film King Kong first made?

9 Where is the annual World Economic Forum held?

10Who is known as Frontier Gandhi?

11Name the Indian tennis player to have won six mixed doubles titles with six different partners.

12Which state has won the Ranji Trophy the maximum number of times?

13Which cricketer holds the record of hitting 12 sixes in a Test innings?

14Name the batsmen who hold the world record of 414 runs’ partnership for the first wicket in a Test match.

15Who has become the first-ever Sikh to be picked as a member of the England cricket team?



School address______________

Winners of quiz 250: The first prize by draw of lots goes to Jagmeet Singh, IX-A, Capt Amol Kalia Fertilizer Model Senior Secondary School, Naya Nangal-140126.

Second: Navdeep Singh Paul, 11-A, Guru Nanak Public School, Sector 36-D, Chandigarh-160036.

Third: Samriti Soni, 12th (med), CRC Govt SSS Rehan, VPO Rehan. Tehsil Nurpur, district Kangra-176022.

Answers to quiz 250: Clemenceau; Virender Sehwag; Thar Express; Baluchistan; Vinda Karandikar; Cup of tea; Swami Vivekanand; Ronnie Screwvala; London, Washington DC, Hong Kong; Dhruv; Queen Mary II; Lahore; Ricky Ponting; Kamran Akmal; Aparna Popat.

Cash awards of Rs 400, 300 and 200 are given to

the first, second and third prize winners, respectively. These are sent at the school address.

Note: Kindly mention the pincode of your place to facilitate the delivery of the prize money.

Answers can also be sent at

— Tarun Sharma