M A I N   N E W S

Inside Babudom
22 Punjab officers to be in Chief Secy’s scale
Prabhjot Singh
Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, July 23
Repeated assertions of the Punjab Government to slash its bloated bureaucracy notwithstanding, the state will soon add five more Director-Generals of Police (DGPs) to its existing list of four, besides enlarging the list of IAS officers in the Chief Secretary’s scale to a record number of 22.

The process to clear all IPS officers up to the 1975 batch for elevation as DGPs has already been set in motion. And in a few weeks time, nine IPS officers will adorn the uniform of a DGP. As of now, only four — Mr S.S. Virk, Mr P. Lal, Dr G.S. Aujla and Mr K.K. Attri — hold the rank.

Next in line for promotion are Mr N.P.S. Aulakh (1972 batch and currently on deputation with the Border Security Force), Mr Rajdeep Singh Gill (1973 batch), Mohammed Izhar Alam and Mr A.P. Pandey (1974 batch), and Mr Anil Kaushik (1975 batch).

Only one DGP — Mr P. Lal — will superannuate on November 30 this year. So between December 1, 2006, and October 31 next year, the minimum number of DGPs in Punjab will be eight. On October 31 next year, after Dr G.S. Aujla retires, the next scheduled superannuation of a Punjab DGP will not come before June 30, 2009.

As a cascading effect to the promotion of these five Additional Director-Generals of Police (ADGPs) to the highest rank, all IPS officers up to the 1988 batch will be elevated as Inspector-Generals of Police (IGPs) thus making the Punjab Police with a total strength of 144 IPS officers, including 43 promoted officers, as one of the most top heavy forces in the country.

Since the Principal Secretary, Home, Dr B.C. Gupta, belongs to the 1975 batch of the IAS, the state government will be technically left with no choice but to grant the Chief Secretary’s scale to all officers who either belong to the same batch of civil service or are senior to the juniormost DGP of the state.

There is only one sanctioned post of DGP. The state has sanction for appointing five ADGPs, 14 IGPs and 15 DIGs. However, once the new promotions are ordered in coming few days, the number of DGPs will rise to nine.

As of now, officers belonging to the 1980 batch or above are in the rank of ADGP and those who belong to the 1987 batch are already holding the rank of IGP.

Those in line for promotion as IGP include Mr R.C. Singh, Mr Prabodh Kumar and Mr Iqbal Preet Singh Sahota.





HOME PAGE | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Opinions |
| Business | Sports | World | Mailbag | Chandigarh | Ludhiana | Delhi |
| Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |