R E G I O N A L   B R I E F S


Conductor booked
: A bus conductor was booked by the Raikot police under Sections 353 and 186, IPC, on Wednesday. Amandeep Singh, inspector in the Punjab Roadways, had on routine checking of a roadways bus found five passengers without ticket on December 28. Conductor Balvir Singh had then entered into an argument with the inspector and used unparliamentary language against him.

One held: Amar Singh of Gug Kalan was arrested by the Sidhwan Bet police on Wednesday evening near Akkuwal village with 6.9 litres of illicit liquor. A case under Sections 61, 1 and 14 of the Excise Act has been registered.

5 held for gambling: The Dakha police has arrested Gurjit Singh of Dakha, Magat Ram and Binder of Mullanpur from the Mandi Mullanpur area for gambling. A sum of Rs 660 in cash and playing cards was seized. In another incident, the police arrested Inderjit Singh of Kabir Nagar and Pappu, alias Setiaban, of Mandi Mullanpur from the same area and seized Rs 400 in cash and playing cards. Cases under Sections 13, 3 and 67 of the Gambling Act have been registered.

4 booked for assault: Jagdeep Singh, Harjinder Singh, Amarjit Singh and Harpreet Singh of Chakar have been booked for assaulting Amandeep Singh of Boparai Kalan with sharp-edged weapons. The local police has registered a case under Sections 324, 323, 506 and 34, IPC. The injured has been admitted to the local Civil Hospital. Some money dispute is stated to be the motive behind the assault. No arrest has made so far.



Khatik Samaj office-bearers
: Mr Mahesh Kumar Khinchhi has been elected president of the Haryana unit of the All India Khatik Samaj. The following have been made office-bearers: vice-presidents Mr Narsingh Diama (Narnaul), Mr Mohan Lal Bhawara (Kurukshetra), Dr Ram Nath Mogha (Panipat), Dr Bal Kishan (Gurgaon), Mr Rajender Kumar Sawaria (Fatehabad) and Mr Bir Singh (Mewat); general secretary Mr Raghubir Singh (Sonepat); chief secretaries Mr Mahender Singh (Badli), Mr Gyan Chand Chawala (Ambala), Mr Kashmiri Lal Kataria (Jhajjar) and Mr Raghubir Singh Tanwar (Rohtak); secretaries Mr Raghubir Singh Basu (Dabwali), Mr Babu Lal Khinchhi (Faridabad), Mr Balraj Nagar (Sirsa) and Mr Har Narain Bundela (Bhiwani); organising secretary Mr Hari Ram Tanwar (Hisar); and office secretary Mr Dinesh Khinchhi (Rewari). 


HOME PAGE | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Opinions |
| Business | Sports | World | Mailbag | Chandigarh | Ludhiana | Delhi |
| Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |