M A I N   N E W S

Modi dropped from apex body in new BJP team
Tribune News Service

New Delhi, January 29
BJP president Rajnath Singh today constituted his new team effecting crucial changes in the organisation by replacing Mr Sanjay Joshi with Mr Ramlal Agarwal as the new general secretary in charge of organisation and dropping Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi from the Parliamentary Board.

The new BJP executive, which was announced here, has a mixture of old and new faces as it sees the return of former Minister for Finance and External Affairs Yashwant Sinha as one of seven vice-presidents in the organisation.

Mr Rajnath Singh has prepared the list of office-bearers in consultation with not only the RSS, but also the three party bigwigs namely former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee, former Deputy Prime Minister L.K. Advani and former Human Resource Development Minister Murli Manohar Joshi.

In sending Mr Sanjay Joshi, who held the powerful post of general secretary (organisation), back to the RSS, and appointing senior Sangh pracharak Ramlal Agarwal, who has been working in Uttar Pradesh for over three decades, Mr Rajnath Singh has sought to send a clear signal that he has the full support of the RSS. Mr Joshi, however, has been named in the National Executive.

Former Maharashtra Deputy Chief Minister Gopinath Munde, who held the position of a vice-president in the party, has been appointed general secretary along with Mr Arun Jaitley, Mr Ananth Kumar, Mr Vinay Katiyar, Mr Thawarchand Gehlot, Mr Om Prakash Mathur and Mr Ramlal Agarwal.

Mr Jaitley, who does not figure in the list of party spokespersons, has been appointed as the secretary of the Parliamentary Board - a post held earlier by late Pramod Mahajan.



HOME PAGE | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Opinions |
| Business | Sports | World | Mailbag | Chandigarh | Ludhiana | Delhi |
| Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |