M A I N   N E W S

Family mix but most Badal kin win
Dalit seniors bite dust
Sarbjit Dhaliwal/Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, February 27
It is a mixed bag as far as performance of close relations of political leaders is concerned. Capt Kanwaljit Singh from Banur won with a convincing margin but his son Jasjit Singh Bunny lost to Balbir Singh Sidhu form Kharar.

Almost all close relations of Parkash Singh Badal won from various segments. His nephew Manpreet Singh Badal won from Gidderbaha and his son-in-law Adesh Partap Singh Kairon from Patti. His other relative Birkram Singh won from Majitha and Janmeja Singh Sekhon from Ferozepore. Jagbir Singh Brar won from Jalandhar cantonment.

Swarna Ram from Phagwara and his son Mohan Lal from Banga also sailed through. Rajinder Kaur Bhattal and his brother Kuldeep Singh Bhattal won from Lehra and Dhanula segments.

However, Simranjit Singh Mann and his son Iman Singh were defeated. Vidhan Sabha Speaker Dr Kewal Krishan's son Rajnish Kumar lost to BJP candidate Arunesh Shakar in Mukerian.

Tej Parkash Singh, son of the late Beant Singh, won from Payal but his sister Gukanwal Kaur was defeated in Jalandhar cantonment. Partap Singh Bajwa won from Kahnuwan but his brother Fateh Jang was defeated in Hargobindpur.

Senior Dalit leaders also suffered defeat. The most important among them is Shamsher Singh Dullo, who lost to little-known SAD candidate Bikramjit Singh Khalsa in Khanna. Choudhury Jagjit Singh and his brother Santokh Singh were defeated in their respective constituencies. Mohinder Singh Kaypee also suffered defeat in Jalandhar. Sardul Singh lost to Malkiat Singh in Jandiala. Malkiat Singh Dakha has lost.

Senior Akali Dalit leader, Mr Gurdev Singh, has been defeated in Panjgrain. Other Akali Dalit leaders whowere defeated are Gobind Singh Kanjla, Satwant Kaur Sandhu, Satinder Kaur Dhaliwal and Gura Singh Tungwali. The only Christian candidate, Abraham Irshad, put up by the Congress in Dhariwal lost to Sucha Singh Langah. Many relatively young Dalit leaders such as Makhan Singh emerged winners.



HOME PAGE | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Opinions |
| Business | Sports | World | Mailbag | Chandigarh | Ludhiana | Delhi |
| Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |