C H A N D I G A R H   S T O R I E S


Golden, Youngsters clubs make it to final
CFC forced to withdraw
Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, March 25
Defending champions Chandigarh Football Club (CFC) and Youngsters Football Club registered victories in the semifinals of the Chandigarh State Senior Football Championship for Chaudhary Jarnail Singh Trophy at the football stadium in Sector 17 here today.

CFC handed out a 4-0 drubbing to Golden Football Club while Youngsters Football Club managed to beat a luckless Panjab University Campus Football Club by a solitary first-half goal scored by Vinay Kanwar in the 33rd minute.

Meanwhile, Golden Football Club lodged a protest with the organising committee that two CFC players - goalkeeper Raj Kumar and Man Mohan Singh - were not eligible to play in the state championship as they had been transferred to other states.

According to CFA secretary Rakesh Bakshi, the technical committee met in the evening to discuss the matter. The manager of the CFC pleaded that he was not aware of the facts. Consequently, he withdrew from the tournament. The technical committee awarded the match to Golden FC.

The final will be played between Golden FC and Youngsters FC tomorrow at 4 pm.

In the first semifinal, Mohit and Deepak Hooda starred in fluent win of Chandigarh Football Club. Both scored a brace each as CFC routed Golden Football Club 4-0.

Youngsters FC beat PUC Football Club 1-0 in the second semifinal. Kamie initiated the move from the middle and passed it to right winger Suraj who rolled the ball to Vinay Kanwar to do the rest.



Kanwar, Charan putt title
Our Golf Correspondent

Chandigarh, March 25
Kanwar Narinder Singh and Charan Narinder Singh could not have asked for more. They wrested the net winners title from a record field of 325 golfers who converged on the greens of the Chandigarh Golf Club for the Captain's Day Cup Golf Tournament.

Played on the stableford system with a scramble finish, the tournament this year attracted a record number of entries, including about 15 ladies.

The competition that was teed off this morning at 7 am, continued for almost 12 hours with floodlights being put on during the last stages of the competition.

Pauline J.M. Singh and Pika Pritpal Singh finished runners-up in the net competition for 18 hole.

The competition for the ladies above-60 and gents above-65 was restricted to nine holes. In this category, the twosome of Col Ranjit Singh Grewal and Lt-Col Mohinder Singh emerged winners with the runners-up slot being taken by Lt-Gen Harbhajan Singh and Maj-Gen S.S. Grewal.

Captain Sandeep Sandhu clinched the putting title while Rahul Bakshi clinched the bunker play title. Both titles were common to all categories.

The longest drive among gents was 342 yards by Tarun Lehal in the under-50 category. Other winners were Brig P.P.S. Dhillon (287) in 50-65 age group, Col H.S. Hanjra (238) in 65-75 age-group, Mohinder Guron (228) in 75-80 age-group and Lt-Col P.S. Grewal (210) in the 80 and above category.

Rabiya Gill emerged the longest driver among ladies (213) in the below-60 age group. Saroj Jyoti (164) won in the 60-and-above category.



SJOBA Sub-Himalayan Rally
Suresh Rana, Sidhu win
Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, March 25
The duo of Suresh Rana and Kamal Sidhu finished first in the Jeep category in the 20th which concluded at St John's High School, Sector 26, here today.

The second spot was secured by Khushwant Randhawa and Amrit Pal while Pal Singh and Ashwini Gupta came third. Rallyist Anil Wadia and his navigator Gagandeep Singh emerged winners in the car category while Nitin Batra and Neeraj Vohra finished second.

In the motorcycle category, Yogesh Lakhani came first. The second position was won by Sandeep Matharu while Rupinder Singh finished third.

In the Time, Speed, Distance (TSD) category, Umesh won the championship whereas Maninder Sharma and Ranjan came second and third, respectively.

According to organisers, these results were provisional and the final results will be declared tomorrow.

Results: Challenge Championship: Jeep category: Suresh Rana and Kamal Sidhu 1, Khushwant Randhawa and Amrit Pal 2, Soli Pal Singh and Ashwini Gupta 3; Car category: Anil Wadia and Gagandeep Singh 1, Nitin Batra and Neeraj Vohra 2; Mobike category: Yogesh Lakhani 1, Sandeep Matharu 2, Rupinder Singh 3; TSD championship: Umesh 1, Maninder Sharma 2, Ranjan 3.



Lahore take friendly series
Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, March 25
Pakistan Punjab Lawn Tennis Association, Lahore, defeated Chandigarh Lawn Tennis Association 4-2 in a friendly tennis series played at the CLTA Centre Courts, Sector 10, here this evening.

The pakistan duo of former Davis Cupper Rashid Malik and Iftikhar Rao registered a win against the CLTA pair of S.M. Sharma and N.M. Janmeja 7-4.

The Pakistan players broke their rivalsí serve to take a 1-0 lead and extended it to 3-0.

Sharma and Janmeja displayed better coordination and reduced the margin to 3-2. Eventually, the Pakistani pair won 7-4. Rajan Kashyap partnered Dr Jasjeet Singh against Naeem Khan and Zahid Zafar. The Pakistani pair won 7-1.

The results:

Rakesh Bharani and Sarabpreet Singh (Ind) b Sohail Iqbal and Parvesh Ahmed Bajwa (Pak) 7-2, M. Ramsekhar and Banta Singh (Ind) b Shafaat and Imtiaz (Pak) 7-1, Rashid Malik and Iftikhar Rao (Pak) b S.M. Sharma and N.M. Janmeja (Ind) 7-4, Bajwa and Chaudhary Fayyaz (Pak) b Nipun Mital and Sukhdev Singh (Ind) 4-3, Naeem Khan and Zahid Zafar (Pak) b Rajan Kashyap and Jasjeet Singh (Ind) 7-1, Rashid Malik and Zahid Zafar (Pak) b S.M. Sharma and M. Ramsekhar (Ind) 3-1.



SD college lift ball badminton title
Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, March 25
SD College-32 and Government Model High School-36 won the third Senior Chandigarh State Ball Badminton Championship held at Government Model High School, Sector 20, here today.

Shiv Hari Sharma (SGGS College-26) and Bhabya (GMSSS-23) were declared best players of the tournament while Dheeraj Sharma and Harmeet Kaur, both from SD College-32, were declared best players in the boys and girls categories, respectively.

Ravinder Talwar, who was the chief guest, distributed the prizes.

The results:

Final: Boys: SD College-32 b SGGS College-26 (29-17, 29-19)

Girls: GMHS- 36 b GMSSS-23 (29-17, 29-12).



High Court team enter final
Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, March 25
High Court I will meet District Bar Association, Panipat, in the finals of the cricket tournament of the Bar Council of Punjab and Haryana which will be held at DAV College, Sector 10, here tomorrow.

In the semifinals today, District Bar Association, Panipat, beat District Bar Association, Chandigarh, by six wickets. After winning the toss, the Chandigarh team decided to bat first and could muster 95 runs. In reply, Panipat team scored 97 runs at the loss of four wickets in 20.4 overs.

In the other semifinal, High Court I beat Jalandhar Bar Association by 41 runs. The High Court team scored 173 runs at the loss of eight wickets. Chasing the target, the Jalandhar team was bundled out for 131 runs in 22.4 overs.



HOME PAGE | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Opinions |
| Business | Sports | World | Mailbag | Chandigarh | Ludhiana | Delhi |
| Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |