C H A N D I G A R H   S T O R I E S


Jaanesh, Shilpa enter semis
Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, April 25
Top seed Jaanesh Kaur of Chandigarh continued her winning streak as she defeated seventh seed Prabhamrit Kaur of Chandigarh 6-3, 6-4 in the quarterfinals of the girls under-16 singles in the AITA Championship Series being conducted by the Chandigarh Lawn Tennis Association at the CLTA Tennis Stadium, Sector 10, here today.

Jaanesh will now meet fifth seed Seeulee K. Upadhaya who defeated Namita Bal of Maharashtra 6-2, 4-6, 6-2.

Shilpa Naruka and eight seed Mehak of Chandigarh moved into the girls under-16 semifinals with straight sets wins.

The duo of Sunny Sharma (Delhi) and Rishab Arora (Delhi) defeated the Chandigarh pair of Harry S. Amor and Garry S. Amor 7-6 (6), 6-3.

Top seed Digvijay Singh Mehta of Himachal Pradesh lived up to his reputation as he made his way to the boys u-14 as well as u-16 singles semifinals with ease.

Semifinalists in the girls u-14 as well as u-16 categories have been spotted. In the girls u-14 singles, top seed Namita Bal of Maharashtra will face unseeded Ikttesh Chahal of Chandigarh and second seed Saumya Sanghi of Delhi is pitted against Likhita Shetty of Karnataka.

Top seed Namita Bal and second seed Saumya Sanghi had a hard time in their girls u-14 singles quarterfinal encounters. Unseeded Vidushi Bhalla of Delhi posed a threat to top seed Namita Bal of Maharashtra who just managed to snatch a hard fought win by 2-6, 7-6 (0), 7-5.

Second seed Saumya Sanghi was extended to three sets by eighth seed M. Spurti of Andhra Pradesh 6-4, 1-6, 6-3. Sanghi's opponent in the semi-final will be fifth seed Likhita Shetty of Karnataka who stunned third seed Tarranium Handa of Chandigarh 7-6 (3), 6-3.

Results (quarterfinals):

Girls u-14 singles: Namita Bal b Vidushi Bhalla 2-6, 7-6 (0), 7-5, Likhita Shetty b Tarranium Handa 7-6 (3), 6-3, Saumya Sanghi b M. Spurthi 6-4, 1-6, 6-3, Ikttesh Chahal b Arzoo Malik 6-4, 7-5.

Girls u-16 singles: Jaanesh Kaur b Prabhamrit Kaur 6-3, 6-4, Mehak Singh b Baljinder Kaur 7-5, 6-1, Shilpa Naruka b Parminder Kaur 6-2, 6-3, Seeulee K. Upadhya b Namita Bal 6-2, 4-6, 6-2.

Boys u-16 singles: Bharat Bhardwaj b Ankit Chaudhary 6-2, 7-5, Pullok Bhatacharya b Naveen Shankar 6-1, 6-3, Mandeep S. Gill b Vijay Bhardwaj 6-1, 6-2, Digvijay S. Mehta b Maninder Singh 6-1, 6-1.

Boys u-14 singles: Digvijay S. Mehta b Pankaj Kumar 6-1, 6-0, Darp Anirudh Milind b Ajay Yadav 6-1, 2-6, 3-6, Karan P. Kurup b Shikhar Kumar 6-0, 6-1, Gurinder Singh b Sudhir Tanwar 6-3, 6-2.

Boys u-14 doubles: Ajay Yadav and Maninder Singh b Digvijay S. Naruka and Pankaj Kumar 4-6, 7-5, 10-8, Gagandeep S. Gill and Jashanveer Singh b Tarun Chopra and Karan Bidani 6-2, 6-2, Sudhir Tanwar and Archit Sood b Manish Kumar and Shikhar Kumar 3-6, 6-3, 10-5, Darp Anirudh Milind and Om Dalvi b Abdul Rasheed Zian and Davinder Singh 6-0, 6-1.



Chandigarh book berth in final
Tribune News Service

Mohali, April 25
The Chandigarh team secured its berth in the final of the Punjab State Inter-District Under-15 Tournament for the Sushil Bali Trophy beating Mohali district on the basis of first innings lead in the semifinal match at the Punjab Cricket Association grounds here today.

Resuming their innings from the overnight score of 36 runs without loss in 19 overs, Mohali were all out for 217 in 86.2 overs thus conceding the lead of 33 runs. Navjot Singh played a good innings of 89 runs while Prateek Deswal and Saurav Chopra were the other contributors with 33 and 27 runs, respectively.

The highest wicket taker was Sandeep Dangi, who finished with 4 for 49 followed by Veer Karan Goel, who claimed 3 for 68. Abhishek Mahajan took 2 for 35.

Earlier in their first innings, Chandigarh had made 250 runs all out in 88.5 overs. In the second innings, Chandigarh had scored 116 runs for the loss of three wickets in 32 overs at the end of the match.

Brief scores:

Chandigarh: (first innings): 250 all out in 88.5 overs.

Mohali: (first innings): 217 in 86.2 overs (Navjot Singh 89, Prateek Deswal 33, Saurav Chopra 27, Sandeep Dangi 4 for 49, Veer Karan Goel 3 for 68, Abhishek Mahajan 2 for 35).

Chandigarh (second innings): 116 for 3 in 32 overs (Srijan Sablok 1 for 12, Sumeet Agnihotri 1 for 47, Paramdeep 1 for 23).



HOME PAGE | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Opinions |
| Business | Sports | World | Mailbag | Chandigarh | Ludhiana | Delhi |
| Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |