C H A N D I G A R H   S T O R I E S


Admn prepares action plan for medical tourism
Tribune News Service

Chandigarh May 19
The Chandigarh administration has formulated a comprehensive medical tourism action plan to promote Chandigarh as a healthcare destination and attract more foreign tourists. The plan will focus on utilising surplus facilities in private hospitals of the tricity.

UT home secretary Krishna Mohan said the action plan had been formulated after taking all relevant inputs from the medical and tourism industry. PGI director and leading private healthcare providers had also been consulted.

“We can earn a huge amount of foreign exchange if the potential of health tourism is fully tapped. In fact, if health tourism is promoted, other areas would also be benefitted without any substantial addition to the overall expenditure. The healthcare facilities in the city are world class and costs are just 10 per cent of those in western countries,” he added.

Comprehensive data of the medical facilities available in the tricity would be created. It would be placed separately under private sector and public sector hospitals/clinics/laboratories/imaging centers/dental surgery, etc.

A website on Chandigarh medical tourism would be created and a mechanism would be devised to update it regularly.

The website would enable interested medical tourists to seek appointment with the doctor/hospital of their choice and booking of CITCO and private hotel rooms in the city.



BPCL are hockey champs
Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, May 18
The BPCL lifted the trophy after defeating Rock Rovers by a margin of three goals (8-5) in the 5th Olympian Dharam Singh Memorial Six-a-Side Hockey Tournament-2007 at the hockey stadium, Sector 18, today.

The half-time score read 5-2 in favour of the BPCL. BPCL defender Ajay Saroha was declared man of the match as he played a key role in the team’s win.

The match saw some good hockey display from the two teams but the BPCL proved too good for their opponents.

Rock Rovers’ goalkeeper Sunny Samuel, who made some glorious saves during the meet, got the man of the tournament.



Chandigarh hold nerve, reach final
Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, May 19
Chandigarh batsmen held their nerve to reach the final, beating Mohali on the basis of first innings lead in the Punjab State Under-17 Years Tournament for ML Markan Trophy 2007-08 semifinal match at the cricket stadium, Sector 16, today.

Chandigarh, which had lost three wickets for 34 in 12 overs yesterday, recovered after a fine knock from Shahnawaj Mirza (63).

In reply to Mohali’s first innings score of 179, Chandigarh made 194 for 5 on the deciding day, thus winning the match on the basis of first innings lead.

Shahnawaj was well supported by Anil Sihag, who remained unbeaten on 36. Vishal Thind scored valuable 30. For Mohali, Mohit Bedi and Harpreet Singh took two wickets each for 48 and 40 runs, respectively.

Brief scores: Mohali (1st innings): 179 all out in 84 overs (Arshdeep Brar 69, Kunal Mahajan 39, Harpreet 24; Rahul Chara 5 for 58, Anshul Tripathi 2 for 28).

Chandigarh (Ist innings): 194 for 5 (Shahnawaj Mirza 63, Anil Sihag 36 n o, Vishal Thind 30; Mohit Bedi 2 for 48, Harpreet Singh 2 for 40).



Ball Badminton
Victory for Manav Mangal
Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, May 19
Manav Mangal School, Sector 21, beat hosts Government Model Senior Secondary School, Sector 32 (29-18, 29-23) in the boys' category of the 4th Sub-Junior State Ball Badminton Championship at the school premises, Sector 32, here today.

In the girls' category, Government Senior Secondary School, Sector 37, got the better of Government Model High School 29-12, 29-22 while Government High School, Sector 40, thrashed GMSS, Sector 10, 29-17, 29-22.

A total of 16 teams are participating in the championship.

The results:

Boys: Manav Mangal School-21 bt GMSS-32 (29-18, 29-23); GMHS-36 bt GMSS-35 (29-17, 29-22); Manav Mangal Club-21 bt GMHS-32 (29-18, 29-22);

Girls: GSSS-37 bt GMHS-36 (29-12, 29-22); GHPS-40 bt GMSS-10 (29-17, 29-22); Manav Mangal School bt GMSS-32 (29-22, 29-25); GHS-32 bt GMSSS-35 (29-17, 29-22). 



Irshad, Harshpreet outclass opponents
Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, May 19
Irshad thrashed Gaurav 25-00, 25-00 in the men’s singles, while Harshpreet outclassed Gulshan 25-03, 25-02 in girls’ section in the first round of the 10th edition of the St Stephen’s Carrom Ranking Tournament that started at St Stephen’s School, Sector 45, here today.

In the four-day tournament, being organised under the auspices of the Chandigarh Carrom Association, 318 players, including 114 women/girls, are taking part in six different events. A total of 342 matches will be played during the four days.

Top eight position holders in each event will be awarded ranking 
points for their selection for the national/zonal championships.

The first day’s results:

Men’s singles: 1st round: Irshad b Gaurav 25-00, 25-00; Kartik b K.C. Saxena 25-00, 25-00; Piyush Sood b Mukesh Piplani 18-15, 25-23.

Boys’ singles (junior): 1st round: Harry Bhanot b Aryan Adya 23-13; Varun Sood b Parteek Gulati 25-02. 2nd round: Gauravraj b Subham Bassi 25-00; Aman Taneja b Mukul Sarwal 25-00; Mukul Dev Sharma b Pulkit Bhutani 22-16; Ayush Hemdan b Gaurav 25-00; Tasuvar Ali b Prabhjot 25-00; Uday Karan Singh b Subhransh 23-04; Saksham b Ankush Taneja 21-08.

Boys’ singles (sub-junior): 1st round: Jayant b Nikhil Shukla 25-01; Ankush Taneja b Sahil Mohd 25-09; Nazaf b Kartik Verma 25-00; Harry Bhanot b Anmol Singla 20-08; Aryan Adya b Rahul 25-00; Rishab Jain b Aman 25-00; Yashu Sharma b Aditya Aggarwal 25-00; Puneet Jain b Jagjit Singh 25-00; Arshdeep singh b Keshav Bansal 25-09; Anurag Singh b Lalit Garg 13-09; Shubham b Parnav 25-00; Saksham b Pulkit Sharma 25-00; Gauravraj b Aman Taneja 25-05; Aakashdeep Singh b Anay Raja 25-05; Harlove b Ashish Kapoor 25-00; Mohd Talib b Karanvir Singh 25-00; Akshaya Sandheer b Mohit Vats 25-00; Rahul Verma b Ishan Sharma 25-00.

Women’s singles: 1st round: Harshpreet b Gulshan 25-03, 25-02; Khazanika b Preeti 25-07; Farheen b Sughandha 25-05, 25-00; Samridhi Piplani b Neelam Rani 25-02, 25-04; Anjali Taneja b Jyoti 25-03, 25-00.

Girls’ junior: 1st round: Tuba b Neha 25-00; Harnoor b Gurheen 25-00; Malika Sekhri b Palak Jain 25-17; Harleen b Ayushi Sharma 25-02; Khushnuma b Jasmine 25-09; Tanvi Gakhar b Amanjot Kaur 25-05; Shabhnam Singh b Anushtha Sharma 25-01; Samridhi Piplani b Gunjan 25-00.



2 local lads win laurels in chess
Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, May 19
Two local chess wizards - Shivam and Himal Gussain - brought laurels by winning best player title in under-12 and under-16 categories of the Seth Suganchand Chittlangia Memorial International Rating Open Chess Tournament held at Sri Ganganagar recently.

Besides, Shivam stood 14th in the open category in which 79 players, including two international masters, participated, whereas Himal secured sixth position in the open category.

Shivam collected 6 points and improved his ELO ranking by scoring over 100 ELO points.

Himal, who got 6.5 points in the tournament, had won top honours in the Chandigarh State Chess Championship held last month here.



HOME PAGE | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Opinions |
| Business | Sports | World | Mailbag | Chandigarh | Ludhiana | Delhi |
| Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |