C H A N D I G A R H   S T O R I E S


Cricket Tournament
Satluj, St Stephen’s in final
Tribune News Service

Panchkula, July 28
Fine bowling spells by Ankush Mandal (2 for 8), Gurprabhjot Singh (3 for 20) and Harpreet Singh (3 for 22) enabled Satluj Public School beat Delhi Public School, Pinjore, in the first semi-final match of the Satluj U-15 Monsoon Cup Invitational Cricket Tournament.

The tournament is being played at Satluj Public School, Sector 14, here. Satluj beat Delhi by 66 runs. Satluj won the toss and elected to bat first.

They scored a respectable total of 184 runs at the loss of six runs in the allotted 25 overs. Ankush Dhariwal, Gaurav Singh, Gurprabhjot Singh, and Chahat Gandhi contributed 35, 32, 28 and 22 runs, respectively.

In reply, the Delhi team was bundled out for 118 runs.

In the second semi-final match of the day, St Stephen’s School, Sector 45, Chandigarh, got the better of Alpine Public School, Pinjore. The Stephen’s team toppled Alpine by 69 runs to enter the finals of the tournament.

The final match of the tournament will be played July 30 at 9 am at same venue.

Brief scores:

Satluj Public School: 186 for 4 in 25 overs (Ankush Dhaliwal 35, Gaurav Singh 32, Gurprabhjot Singh 28, Chahat Gandhi 22 n.o, Vaibhav 4 for 36);

Delhi Public School: 118 all out (Sanchit 25, Rishab 22, Naman 20, Pankaj 17, Gurprabhjot Singh 3 for 20, Harpreet Singh 3 for 22, Ankush Mandal 2 for 8, Manan Vohra 2 for 25).

St Stephen’s School: 155 for 4 in 25overs (Sachet Nayar 67 n.o, Harman Preet Singh 28, Jaspreet 22, Jatinder 2 for 23, Manjit Sigh 2 for 21);

Alpine School: 86 all out.



St Stephen’s lift title
Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, July 28
Shishu Niketan School and St Stephen’s School proved their mettle by grabbing the u-17 and u-14 title of the Pre-Subroto Football Cup held on the GMSSS-37 grounds, here, today.

Goals were aplenty in both the encounters. In the u-17 tie, Shishu Niketan opened their account during the third minute with Kabir scoring a field goal. Three minutes later, GMSSS managed to score the equaliser with Sanjeev’s goal. It was the only goal scored by the GMSSS team.

After that, the Shishu Niketan team scored six goals consecutively: Rahul (2), Sandesh (2) and Kabir (2). The match ended at 7-1.

In the u-14 encounter, it was a one-sided affair with St Stephen’s defeating Ryan International 5-0. Uma Kanta proved to be too tough for the Ryan team to handle. He scored three goals (seventh minute, 25th minute and 45th minute). The other two goals were scored by Vikramjeet and Mohd Waris during the 14th and 23rd minutes, respectively.



Pre-Nehru Hockey
DAV trounce Shivalik 5-3
Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, July 28
Showing their class, DAV Senior Secondary School, Sector 8, outclassed Shivalik Public School, Sector 41, 5-3 in the final match of the u-17 Pre-Nehru Hockey Tournament for boys, held at the Sector 42 Hockey stadium, here, today.

The Shivalik team took lead at an initial stage of the match with Amandeep sounding the board in the 11th minute of the match.

The DAV team soon bounced back, displaying a couple of anxious moments before striking the equaliser two minutes later. It was Rohit who was instrumental in putting the DAV squad in the driver’s seat by scoring at the 13th and 15th minute of the match. This was followed by another goal scored by Mohit, eight minutes later. The half time score stood at 3-1 in favour of DAV.

After the lemon break, DAV’s Akshay scored a field goal (44th minute) making the score 4-1. Shivalik’s Manjot reduced the margin through a penalty corner one minute later. This was the first PC of the match.

During the 53rd minute, Gurjinder Singh of DAV scored a field goal. Two minutes later, Shivalik managed to earn a penalty corner and at this juncture, Anvir Singh reduced the margin by scoring a goal. The final verdict was given in favour of DAV at 5-3.



Hassan moves to second round
Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, July 28
In a one-sided match, Hassan beat Nawaz 25-0, 25-0 to enter into the second round of the boys' junior category on the opening day of the 17th Chandigarh State Carrom Championship. The meet is underway at St Stephen’s School, Sector 45, here.

Earlier, the championship was inaugurated by the Sarabjit Singh, IPS, ex-DGP (Punjab) and chief patron of the Chandigarh Carrom Association.

He also honoured the Chandigarh sub-junior girls’ team, comprising Farheen, Tuba, Gulshan, Khushnuma, Anjali Taneja and Amanjot, who had lifted the national title at Faridabad.

The four-day championship is being organised by the Chandigarh Carrom Association.

Today’s results:

Men’s singles: First round: Rajkumar bt Mukesh Piplani, Piysush Sood bt Vinay Prasad Gupta, Arib bt Tassavar Ali, Dhruva bt Ekansh Goel, Mohd Talib bt Umeed Ali.

Boys’ singles (junior): First round: Saksham bt Inamul Haque, Ekansh Goel bt Anmol, Ojal Anand bt Kushagra Nanda, Mukul Dev Sharma bt Nakul Aggarwal, Aditya Gupta bt Manoj Sharma.

Women’s singles: First round: Bhanu Sadana bt Khushnuma, Kudrat bt Sugandha, Anjli Taneja bt Ashima, Simridhi bt Neha, Reena bt Jaismine, Gulshan bt Prachi.

Girls’ junior: First round: Tuba bt Ankita, Gurseen bt Anushtha Sharma, Prachi bt Ayushi Sharma, Himanshi bt Khazanika, Kirti bt Gurkiran.



YPS cagers clobber St Anne’s
Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, July 28
YPS, Mohali, hammered St Anne’s School, Chandigarh, 26-02 in the Shriman Ishwar Singh Memorial Basketball Tournament-2007 for girls at IS Dev Samaj Girls Senior Secondary School, Sector 21, today. Harkiran (12), Vasundhra (6) and Agampreet (4) were the chief contributors for the YPS.



PCA coaching camp

Chandigarh, July 28
The Punjab Cricket Association has invited 35 players for its 10-day u-19 preparatory camp, which will be inaugurated at the PCA Stadium, here, tomorrow at 11.30 am. — TNS



HOME PAGE | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Opinions |
| Business | Sports | World | Mailbag | Chandigarh | Ludhiana | Delhi |
| Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |