M A I N   N E W S

BJP expels eight MPs
Tribune News Service

The expelled MPs are: Brijbhushan Sharan Singh (Balrampur), Manjunath (Dharwad), Chandrabhan Singh (Damoh), H.T. Sangliana (Bangalore north), Manorama Madhwaraj (Udipi), Haribhav Madhav (Jalgaon), Babubhai Katara (Dohad) and Somabhai Patel (Surendranagar).

New Delhi, July 23
As it became evident that members from the opposition benches in dozens voted for the government in Parliament yesterday, their respective parties moved fast to expel them for defying the party whip.

The BJP, the TDP, the Shiv Sena, the BJD, the Akali Dal, the JD-U and the JD-S all moved to expel their members who defied the party whip. The BJP had the largest list of eight MPs, four of whom cross-voted and four chose to abstain.

Leader of Opposition L.K. Advani said: “There was so much outrage in the party over this that it did not take more than five minutes to decide on expulsion of these MPs.”

Similarly BJD chief Naveen Patnaik expelled his party MP Harihar Swain for the same reason and declared his intent to seek his disqualification.

The Shiv Sena also planned to expel its errant MP who voted for the government and so does the Akali Dal. In JD-U two MPs defied the whip. The party decided to expel one right away but spared the other, P.P. Mohammad Koya, from Lakshadweep.

Similarly the TDP, which leads the UNPA, had two MPs defying the whip but it expelled only M Jagannath. As for the MP from Chittoor, the party has sought an explanation from him.

The JD-S too has decided to expel its only MP from Karantaka besides HD Deve Gowda.Two MDMK MPs also defied the whip and the party has announced appropriate action against them.



HOME PAGE | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Opinions |
| Business | Sports | World | Letters | Chandigarh | Ludhiana | Delhi |
| Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |