M A I N   N E W S

Cong announces Tytler, Sajjanís replacements
Ashok Tuteja
Tribune News Service

DPCC chief JP Aggarwal (left) and Ramesh Kumar have been named as Congress candidates as replacements for party bigwigs Jagdish Tytler and Sajjan Kumar, respectively. Tribune photos: 
Manas Ranjan Bhui

New Delhi, April 17
Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee chief JP Aggarwal and Ramesh Kumar were today named as Congress candidates for North-east Delhi and South Delhi constituencies, respectively, as replacements for party bigwigs Jagdish Tytler and Sajjan Kumar.

Ramesh Kumar is Sajjan Kumarís brother.

The announcement was made by Congress partyís Central Election Committee (CEC) in charge Oscar Fernandes after days of intense consultations Congress President Sonia Gandhi had with senior party leaders. Nominations for the elections in the national capital close tomorrow.

Tytler and Sajjan Kumar were withdrawn by the party from the election fray after various Sikh organisations held demonstrations to protest against giving them election ticket in view of their alleged involvement in the 1984 anti-Sikh riots. The final straw was when journalist Jarnail Singh hurled a shoe at Home Minister P Chidambaram to express his anger over the CBI giving a clean chit to Tytler in a riot-related case.

Aggarwal is a veteran Congressman who, along with Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit, has been credited with the Congress victory for the third time in a row in the Assembly elections in Delhi. Former Delhi Education Minister Narendra Nath and Congress MLA Mateen Ahmed were also said to be in the running for the seat.

Considered a neutral player in Delhi Congress politics, Aggarwal was acceptable to both Tytler and the Delhi Chief Minister as the party nominee for the seat

Ramesh Kumar has obviously got the ticket because Sajjan Kumar had apparently made it clear to the partyís central leadership that it would be difficult for him to work for any candidate other than a member of his family. Ramesh Kumar is said to be a political novice and he obviously will have to bank upon his brotherís popularity to win the seat. Other Congress leaders who strongly pitched for the party ticket for South Delhi were: Yoganand Shastri and Balram Tanwar.

Aggarwal will take on BJPís BL Sharma ĎPremí in the contest for the North-east Delhi constituency while Ramesh Kumar will fight it out against RC Bidhuri of the saffron party.

The Congress also named Vipin Sharma as the party nominee for the byelection to the Rohtash Nagar Assembly seat in the capital.



HOME PAGE | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Opinions |
| Business | Sports | World | Letters | Chandigarh | Ludhiana | Delhi |
| Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |