M A I N   N E W S

Lapang sworn in Meghalaya CM
Bijay Sankar Bora
Tribune News Service

Guwahati, May 13
Senior Congress leader and former Chief Minister DD Lapang was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Meghalaya today in the wake of the Centreís decision to withdraw the Presidentís Rule in the hill state.

Governor Ranjit Sekhar Mooshahary administered the oath of office and secrecy to Lapang at a function in Raj Bhavan.

Lapang heads a government of the Meghalaya United Alliance (MUA) comprising the Congress and regional United Democratic Party (UDP). The alliance has support of 37 legislators - 26 from the Congress, nine from the UDP and two Independents -- in the 60-member House that now has an effective strength of 55, following the resignation of one UDP MLA and disqualification of four others.

Besides Lapang, six other Cabinet ministers were administered the oath of office and secrecy today. They included Deputy Chief Minister Dr Mukul Sangma, RC Laloo, MM Dangoo, Ampareen Lyngdoh (all Congress), JA Lyngdoh (UDP) and A T Mondol (Independent).

Ampareen Lyndog, who shifted allegiance to the Congress from the UDP last month after quitting the membership of the House, has to be elected within six months.

The new Congress-led MUA government happened to be the third government in the hill state within the 14 months since the last Assembly election was held in March last year. Immediately after the election, the Congress, which emerged as the single largest party with 26 MLAs in the 60-member House, was invited to form the government with DD Lapang as the Chief Minister.

However, the Congress government did not last even 10 days, failing to muster the support of majority members.



HOME PAGE | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Opinions |
| Business | Sports | World | Letters | Chandigarh | Ludhiana | Delhi |
| Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |