Bragging rights

Rohit ton, Kohli’s 89 lead India to 7-wicket win over Australia in 3rd ODI, clinch series 2-1

Bragging rights

Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma during the third ODI against Australia in Bengaluru. PTI

Bengaluru, January 19

Rohit Sharma smashed a scintillating century and Virat Kohli starred in another successful chase as India beat Australia by seven wickets in the final ODI to complete a 2-1 series victory. Steve Smith’s first ODI hundred in three years had propelled Australia to 286/9, although the tourists at one stage looked set for a 300-plus total.

Rohit’s 119 laid the foundation for India’s chase and Kohli made 89 as three premier batsmen of their era shone in a mouth-watering contest. Earlier, Australia captain Aaron Finch elected to bat but the touring side did not get the strong start they expected from their openers. David Warner fell cheaply and Finch ran himself out after an almighty mix-up with Smith as both finished up at the same end. Smith redeemed himself with a typically fluent knock, adding 127 runs with the in-form Marnus Labuschagne (54), before wickets started tumbling at the other end.

Kohli took a stunning one-handed catch to send back Labuschagne and Mitchell Starc, promoted in the order as a pinch-hitter, fell in the same over by Ravindra Jadeja. Smith could not be denied his ninth ODI century, however, and the prolific Australian made a run-a-ball 131 before holing out in the deep. Jasprit Bumrah bowled with characteristic parsimony and Mohammed Shami (4/63) produced a string of yorkers to hurt Australia who lost their last five wickets for 51 runs.

India suffered a blow before beginning their chase with opener Shikhar Dhawan going off after hurting his shoulder while fielding. KL Rahul made 19 opening the innings with Rohit whose 137-run stand with Kohli put India on course for victory. Kohli occasionally struggled to read Adam Zampa’s googly but kept India on course after Rohit’s departure. — Reuters


  • 3 RD Fastest — Rohit Sharma — to 9,000 ODI runs. Rohit reached the milestone in 217 innings, while Virat Kohli is the fastest to 9,000 runs in 194 innings. AB de Villiers is the second fastest, having reached there in 208 innings. The other Indians who have crossed the 9,000-run mark are Sachin Tendulkar (18,426 ODI runs overall), Sourav Ganguly (11,221), Rahul Dravid (10,768) MS Dhoni (10,599) and Mohammad Azharuddin (9,378)
  • 5000 Virat Kohli became the fastest to 5,000 runs in ODI cricket as captain of a side. Kohli brought it up with a sumptuous shot past cover for four off Mitchell Starc during the third ODI. His predecessor MS Dhoni got to the milestone in 127 innings while Kohli has done it in just 82. Ricky Ponting is third on the list having got there in 131 innings while Graeme Smith is fourth on 135


View All

No check on illegal PGs in city

Civic body does not have info about number of such accommoda...

Woman sarpanch alleges molestation, five booked

Old enmity over election as sarpanch of the village was the...

PG accommodation: Precious lives lost, but who cares?

Estate Office sleeps as illegal PGs mushroom in city, has no...

Students packed like sardines in dingy PGs of Chandigarh

More such tragedies waiting to happen in the city as norms g...

PG operators of Chandigarh were thick into this illegal biz

Run another PG in Sec 32, were readying yet another to make ...

Of all that didn’t burn in PG accommodation fire in Chandigarh

“Papa, chhoti si toh zindagi hai (life is too short, papa); ...

Govt staff protest against non-fulfilment of demands

Call off stir after assurance on meeting with Chief Minister

Bumpy ride for commuters

Road connecting Rail Crossing 22 and 24 in bad shape

Cartiers & Patiala necklace: On trail of a lost marvel

23 years after it wowed the West, ‘the Patiala Necklace’ wen...