Monday, October 21, 2019

Posted at: Apr 18, 2019, 8:08 AM; last updated: Apr 18, 2019, 8:08 AM (IST)

3 city students shortlisted for ISRO programme

Tribune News Service
Chandigarh, April 17

Three city students have been selected for the Young Scientist Programme (YUVIKA-2019) of the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) to be held from May 13 to May 25 at Space Applications Centre, Ahmedabad.

The Class IX students, Abhishek Mahto from Government High School, Maloya; Raizel Gupta from Sacred Heart Convent School, Sector 26, and Anubhav Singla from Government Model Senior Secondary School, Sector 21, were selected on the basis of their performance in academics and extracurricular activities in Class VIII.

Students belonging to rural areas were given special preference during selection.

It was proposed to select three students from each State/Union Territory to participate in the programme covering the Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE), Indian Certificate of Secondary Education (ICSE) and state syllabus.

A total of 108 students from 36 states have been selected for the programme.

The programme will continue for two weeks during summer holidays and the schedule will include invited talks, experience sharing by eminent scientists, facility and lab visits, exclusive sessions for discussions with experts, practical and feedback sessions.

The programme

  • The programme is primarily aimed at imparting basic knowledge on space technology, space science and space applications to the younger ones with the intent of arousing their interest in space activities. 
  • It also aims at creating awareness among the youngsters who are the future building blocks of our nation. 
  • A total of 108 students from 36 states have been selected for the programme.


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On