Friday, December 06, 2019
Chandigarh » Community

Posted at: Mar 31, 2015, 1:55 AM; last updated: Mar 31, 2015, 1:18 AM (IST)

PGI doctors get ICMR awards

Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, March 30

The Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR) has selected six doctors from the PGIMER faculty for its awards. The awards have been won by Prof Surjit Singh and Prof Deepak Bansal of the Department of Paediatric Medicine; late Prof Dheeraj Gupta and Dr Ritesh Agarwal, Additional Professor of Department of Pulmonary Medicine; Dr Akshay Anand, Additional Professor, Department of Neurology, and Dr Sanjay Bhadada, Additional Professor, Department of Endocrinology.

Prof Surjit Singh won the ICMR Chaturvedi Kalawati Jagmohan Das Memorial Award - 2011 for his work on Kawasaki Disease (KD). Prof Deepak Bansal has been awarded the Dr HB Dingley Memorial Award for the outstanding contribution to the field of paediatrics.

Late Prof Dheeraj Gupta has won the Amrut Mody Unichem Award for 2011 for his significant contributions to the field of pulmonary medicine.

Dr Ritesh Agarwal has been awarded the ICMR Shakuntala Amir Chand Prize for 2012 for his significant contributions to the field of allergic bronchopulmonary aspergillosis (ABPA). 

Dr Akshay Anand has been selected for the prestigious Amrut Modi Award given to those who have demonstrated sustained excellence in the past 10 years in the field of neurosciences. Dr Sanjay Kumar Bhadada received the ICMR MN Sen Oration Award for his seminal work on primary hyperparathyroidism (PHPT) entitled “Primary Hyperparathyroidism in India: Journey from bed side (clinical) to bench (molecular mechanisms)”.


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On