Thursday, October 17, 2019

Posted at: Jan 9, 2019, 7:30 AM; last updated: Jan 9, 2019, 7:30 AM (IST)

Laaroussi-Sacchitt in quarters

Beat Sushant-Krishan 6-3 6-2; Weronika-Holly register 6-2 6-3 win over Gauri-Malvika

Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, January 8

Laaroussi Lalami Y of Morocco and Sacchitt Sharrma of India defeated the Indian pair of Sushant Dabas and Krishan Hooda 6-3 6-2 to storm into the quarterfinals of the ITF Juniors Circuit (Grade-III) Championship at the CLTA Complex, Sector 10.

The Indian pair of Nishant Dabas and Kabir Hans stunned second seeded Dutch pair of Guy Den Ouden and Stijn Pel. Dabas and Hans logged a 3-6 6-0 (10-8) win to qualify for the quarterfinals. Israel's Roi Ginat and Sahar Simon came from one set down to beat Michael Francis Eala of Philippines and Ethan Kai Xin Lye of Singapore 1-6 6-4 (10-8). 

Han Chih Lin of Taiwan and Xiaofei Wang of China had an easy day against Raphael Collignon of Belgium and Tim Thomas Gauntlett of Hong Kong as they logged a 6-3 6-3 win.

The Dutch pair of Fons Van Sambeek and Niels Visker defeated Bikramjeet Singh Chawla of the USA and Adil Karimov of Uzbekistan 6-2 6-3, while Israel's Alexander Gaponenko and Yair Sarouk beat Dev Javia and Kamath Madhwin 4-6 7-6(6) (10-8). 

Thailand's Credit Chaiyanrin and Natthayut Nithithananoint logged a 6-3 6-4 win against Krish Patel and Denim Yadav. The Indian pair of Shashikant Rajput and Uddayvir Singh defeated Thomas George Brun of Switzerland and Adit Sinha of the USA 6-2 6-4.

Weronika-Holly enter women doubles quarters

The top seed pair of Poland's Weronika Baszak and Britain's Holly Fischer confirmed their berth in the quarterfinals by registering a 6-2 6-3 win against the Indian pair of Gauri Bhagia and Malvika Shukla. 

Malikaa Marathe of India and Mai Napatt Nirundorn of Thailand logged an easy (7-5 6-3) win over Malaika Rapolu of the USA and Nikita Vishwase of India. 

Priyanshi Bhandari and Rutuja Chaphalkar of the USA defeated the Indian pair Harleen Kaur and Simran Pritam 6-2 6-4. Thailand's Lunda Kumhom teamed up with Yu Yun Li of Taiwan to log a 6-2 6-0 win over Jagmeet Kaur Grewal and Archita Mahalwal. Melissa Boyden of the Netherlands and Sevil Yuldashva of Uzbekistan beat Japjot Kaur and Konika Singh Dhull 6-0 6-1.

The Chinese pair of Xinyue Hu and Yijia Jiao faced a tough resistance from the Indian pair of Sarah Dev and Bhakti Parwani before confirming a 6-7(5) 6-4 (10-7) win. Anastasia Astakhova of Kazakhstan and Jiagi Huang of China beat Tanisha Kashyap and Kaavya Sawhney 4-6 6-2 (10-5). 

Meshkatolzahra Safi of Iran teamed up with Shuoran Wang of China to beat the Indian pair of Sandeepti Singh Rao and Prinkle Singh 6-1 6-3.


Boys U-18

Laaroussi Lalami Y/Sacchitt Sharrma bt Sushant Dabas/Krishan Hooda 6-3 6-2, Fons Van Sambeek/Niels Visker bt Bikramjeet Singh Chawla/Adil Karimov 6-2 6-3, Han Chih Lin/Xiaofei Wang bt Raphael Collignon/Tim Thomas Gauntlett 6-3 6-3, Alexander Gaponenko/Yair Sarouk bt Dev Javia/Kamath Madhwin 4-6 7-6(6) (10-8), Credit Chaiyanrin/Natthayut Nithithananoint bt Krish Patel/Denim Yadav 6-3 6-4, Roi Ginat/Sahar Simon bt Michael Francis Eala/Ethan Kai Xin Lye 1-6 6-4 (10-8), Shashikant Rajput/Uddayvir Singh bt Thomas George Brun/Adit Sinha 6-2 6-4, Nishant Dabas/Kabir Hans bt Guy Den Ouden/Stijn Pel 3-6 6-0 (10-8)

Girls U-18

Weronika Baszak/Holly Fischer bt Gauri Bhagia/Malvika Shukla 6-2 6-3, Priyanshi Bhandari/ Rutuja Chaphalkar bt Harleen Kaur/Simran Pritam 6-2 6-4, Lunda Kumhom/Yu Yun Li bt Jagmeet Kaur Grewal/Archita Mahalwal 6-2 6-0, Melissa Boyden/Sevil Yuldashva bt Japjot Kaur/Konika Singh Dhull 6-0 6-1, Xinyue Hu/Yijia Jiao bt Sarah Dev/Bhakti Parwani 6-7(5) 6-4 (10-7), Anastasia Astakhova/Jiagi Huang bt Tanisha Kashyap/Kaavya Sawhney 4-6 6-2 (10-5), Meshkatolzahra Safi/Shuoran Wang bt Sandeepti Singh Rao/Prinkle Singh 6-1 6-3, Malikaa Marathe/Mai Napatt Nirundorn bt Malaika Rapolu/Nikita Vishwase 7-5 6-3 


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On