Thursday, March 21, 2019
  • Tribune wishes its readers a very Happy Holi

Posted at: Dec 23, 2017, 1:55 AM; last updated: Dec 23, 2017, 1:55 AM (IST)

Literary award for 24 young writers

Our Correspondent

Chandigarh, December 22

The three-day All-India Young Writers’ Festival organised by the Sahitya Akademi, Delhi, commenced with bestowing of Sahitya Akademi Yuva Puraskar 2017 on 24 young writers in a function held at Randhawa Auditorium, Punjab Kala Bhavan, here today.

Vishavnath Prashad Tiwari, president of the Sahitya Akademi, Delhi; Dr Surjit Patar, chairman, Punjab Arts Council; Dr K Srinivas Rao, secretary, Sahitya Akademi, Delhi; and Dr K Srinivas Rao conferred the awards with citations and cash prizes to following young writers.

Pritam Baruah (Assamese), Shamik Ghosh (Bengali), Bijit Gwra Ramchiary (Bodo), Rajinder Ranjha (Dogri), Manu S Pillai (English), Raam Mori (Gujarati), Taro Sindik (Hindi), Shanthi K Appana (Kannada), Nighat Sahiba (Kashmiri), Amey Vishram Naik (Konkani), Chandan Kumar Jha (Maithili), Aswathy Sasikumar (Malayalam), Krishan Mohan Singha (Manipuri), Rahul Kosambhi (Marathi), Saran Muskan (Nepali), Suryasnata Tripathy (Odia), Harmanjeet Singh (Punjabi), Ummed Dhania (Rajasthani), Hemchandra Belwal (Sanskrit), Maina Tudu (Santali), Rekha Sachdev Pohani (Sindhi), Manushi (Tamil), Mercy Margeret (Telgu) and  Rasheed Ashraf Khan (Urdu).

The akademi has put up an exhibition of books in Punjabi, Hindi and English languages on minimal rates till December 24.


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On