Monday, October 21, 2019

Posted at: Aug 13, 2019, 7:48 AM; last updated: Aug 13, 2019, 7:48 AM (IST)

Markan Trophy starts sans Chandigarh

Mohali, August 12

The Punjab inter-district U-16 tournament for ML Markan Trophy will be held across different venues from August 13. Twenty teams from various districts of the state will participate in the competition, the organisers said here today.   

Notably, Chandigarh Cricket Association (Punjab), which had recently merged with the UT Cricket Association, has not been included in the draw.

The teams have been divided into four pools, with Mohali being placed in pool D along with Ludhiana, Moga, Bathinda and Fatehgarh Sahib.

Amritsar, Gurdaspur, Ferozpur, Faridkot and Muktsar Sahib form pool A, while pool B comprises Jalandhar, Hoshiarpur, Kapurthala, Nawanshaer and Fazilka. 

Patiala, Ropar, Sangrur, Mansa and Barnala have been placed in pool C, the organisers added. 

On the first day of the tournament, Mohali will take on Moga at the Mullanpur stadium, while Ludhiana will host Fatehgarh Sahib. Barnala will travel to Mansa and hosts Patiala will lock horns with Sangrur at Dhruv Pandove Stadium.

Jalandhar will hosts Hoshiarpur. Nawanshaer will travel to Kapurthala, while Amritsar will meet Muktsar Sahib. Gurdaspur will square off with Faridkot. — TNS


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On