Sunday, October 20, 2019

Posted at: Jan 10, 2019, 7:55 AM; last updated: Jan 10, 2019, 7:55 AM (IST)

MP in command despite Yashjeet’s seven-for

MP in command despite Yashjeet’s seven-for
Haryana’s Treyaksh Bali scored a 48-ball 102 against Madhya Pradesh at the MPCA Cricket Grounds in Sagar.

Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, January 9

Despite Yashjeet Balhara’s seven-wicket effort Madhya Pradesh gained a 286-run lead on the third and penultimate day of their Cooch Behar Trophy match against Haryana at the MPCA Cricket Grounds in Sagar on Wednesday. 

At the close of play, Madhya Pradesh in their second innings were batting on 224/9. Omkar Nath Singh was not out on 16 and giving him company at the other end was Shivam Dwivedi on two. Balhara was the wrecker-in-chief for the visitors, claiming 7/65.

Rahul Chandrol (38), Prankesh Rai (34) and Suraj Vashisht (34) made useful contributions to the hosts’ total.   

Earlier, resuming the day on 312/7, Haryana lost KP Yadav for the addition of 20 runs. Yadav was dismissed by Omkar Nath Singh on 15. 

Yashjeet Balhara and Neeraj Rathee stretched the total to 363 before Adheer Pratap Singh claimed the latter on 19.    

Balhara was caught by Irfan Ali off Prankesh Rai on 55 as the visitors eventually closed their innings on 369. 

Bali blitzkrieg

Yesterday, Treyaksh Bali and Sagar Dahiya had given a flying start to the Haryana innings. The openers hammered 135 runs nearly 15 overs before Bali fell to Nirankar Sharma on 102.  

His 48-ball stay in the middle was studded with 10 boundaries and nine sixes. Dahiya made a patient 65, while Sachin Choudhary scored a brisk 50. 

The visitors, though, lost wickets at regular intervals to close the second day’s play at 312/7. Prankesh Rai (3/70) and Adheer Pratap (3/30) claimed three wickets each for the hosts.

Punjab colts suffer innings defeat 

Punjab suffered an innings and 200-run defeat against Karnataka at the KSCA Navale Stadium in Shimoga. Electing to bat, the visitors dished out a listless performance to close their innings on 81 runs. In reply, the hosts declared their innings closed on 516/9 after opener Luvnith Sisodia’s struck 236 runs. Trailing Karnataka by 438 runs, Punjab, in their second innings were all out for 235 runs. Sumit Sharma scored 73 runs, while Salil Arora made 58-ball 52. Santokh Singh was the most impressive bowler for the hosts, claiming 4/70.


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On