Thursday, September 19, 2019

Posted at: Jul 10, 2019, 7:43 AM; last updated: Jul 10, 2019, 7:43 AM (IST)

Punjab honours achievers with Maharaja Ranjit Singh Award

State award for 20 legends and 81 other players; prize money increased to Rs 5 lakh from 2020; amended sports policy announced

Tribune News Service
Chandigarh, July 9  

The Punjab Government after a gap of almost a decade re-introduced Maharaja Ranjit Singh awards and honoured 20 legends and 81 other players, who brought laurels to the state at a function, today. 

The Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh honoured a total of 101 players with state's highest honour 'Maharaja Ranjit Singh Award' along with Punjab Sports and Youth Affairs Minister Rana Gurmit Singh Sodhi and Sanjay Kumar, Secretary Sports. 

The winners were awarded with a cash award of Rs 2lakh along with a trophy memento. The Punjab Sports and Youth Affairs Minister Rana Gurmit Singh Sodhi also announced that the government has decided to increase the prize money to Rs 5lakh from next year. “The Punjab government has decided to increase the prize money to Rs 5lakh from next year. We have also decided to increase the quota of inviting seats for awarding this prestigious award,” said Sodhi.  “I don't know the reason behind not giving the awards in past years. But keeping in mind its importance, we will ensure it to be regular feature. I congratulate the Sports Minister and Secretary Sports for their effort in bringing back the Punjab's legacy," said Captain Amarinder Singh. The amended sports policy of the state was also launched. 

Former players

Balbir Singh Sr, Milkha Singh, Gurbachan Singh Randhawa, Ajit Pal Singh, Bishan Singh Bedi, Kamaljeet Kaur Sandhu, Brigadier Harcharan Singh, Colonel Balbir Singh, Baldev Singh, Harmik Singh, Hardeep Singh, Jagjeet Singh, Gulshan Rai, Jaipal Singh, Gurpreet Singh, Balwinder Singh, Paramjit Singh and Harbhajan Singh

Awardees for 2011

Rajpal Singh, Rajinder Singh Rahelu, Heena Sidhu, Mandeep Sidhu, Mandeep Kaur, Gagandeep Kaur, Dilawar Singh, Kuljit Singh, Jagdeep Singh, Komalpreet Shukla, Ravipal, Ranjit Kaur, Mankiran Kaur, Gurchand Singh, Hardeep Singh and Manjit Singh


Navpreet Kaur, Sunita Rani, Gurinder Singh, Amrit Singh, Shammipreet Kaur, Kiranjit Kaur, Rajwant Kaur, Sarwanjit Singh, Sahil Pathania, Jashandeep Singh, Lakhbir Kaur, Navjot Kaur, Ranjit Singh and Mahabir Singh


Mandeep Kaur, Amandeep Kaur, Sapna Dutta, Samit Singh and Triptpal Singh


Davinder Singh, Gurbaaz Singh, Jasmine, Mandeep Singh and Baljit Singh


Arpinder Singh, Trisha Deb, Shahbaz Singh Bhangoo, Dharamvir Singh, Aman Kumar, Rubi Tomar, Shiv Kumar, Vikas Thakur, Davinder Singh and Amandeep Sharma


Swaran Singh Virk, Khushbir Kaur, Kanwalpreet Singh, Amjot Singh, Rekha Rani, Neelam Rani, Prabhjot Kaur Bajwa, Maninder Kaur, Gurwinder Singh, Rajwinder Kaur, Gurinder Singh, Malaika Goyal, Gurpreet Singh, Jasvir Kaur, Parul Gupta


Raj Rani, Amandeep Kaur (handball) , Amandeep Kaur (hockey), Varinder Kumar, Ajitesh Kaushal, Davinder Singh and Sanjeev Kumar 

Awardees for 2018

Manpreet Singh, Navjit Kaur Dhillon, Ramandeep Kaur, Gurjit Kaur, Randeep Kaur, Veerpal Kaur, Navneet Kaur, Sahil Chopra, Harshdeep Kaur and Veena Arora


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On