Saturday, November 17, 2018

google plus
Chandigarh » Education

Posted at: Sep 7, 2016, 8:42 PM; last updated: Sep 7, 2016, 11:05 PM (IST)

PUSU alliance sweeps Panjab University elections

PUSU alliance sweeps Panjab University elections
Nishant Kaushal, who was elected president from PUSU, (centre) lifted by supporters at Student Centre, Panjab University, in Chandigarh on Wednesday. Tribune photo: Nitin Mittal

Chandigarh, September 7

The PUSU-NSUI(SF)-NSO-HSA alliance swept the Panjab University Campus Student Council elections, results of which were declared late on Wednesday, by winning three of the four posts. The result of secretary has not been declared yet as the recounting of votes is underway.

Nishant Kaushal secured 2843 voted to be elected as the president of the university. Piyush Anand of SOI-ABVP-INSO-HPSO came second with 2505 votes.  Amritpal Singh of SFS came third with 2494 votes. Siya Minocha of NSUI-SOPU-HIMSU-PUHH secured 2074 votes to come fourth.

Avneet Kaur won the vice-president seat with 3296 votes. Sabhya Jaswal of SOI-ABVP-INSO-HPSO came second with 2905 votes.

The post of secretary saw the tightest margin as Ashiq Mohammad and Krishan Kumar of SOI-ABVP-INSO-HPSO had a difference of a few votes between them. Recounting for the same is currently under progress.

Amit Kaushik was elected as joint secretary with 3576 votes against 2819 votes secured by Manvi Gandhi of SOI-ABVP-INSO-HPSO.

In the colleges, an alliance of SOI- INSO-GGSU won all the four posts at SD College and Iqbalpreet Singh was elected as the president.

At PGGC-11, SOI- PUSU- GGSU- SOPU- JACP alliance swept all the post and Gurmeet Kaur was elected president. At PGGC-46, Akshay Dhiman of SOPU-HAS was elected president. In Dav College, Mohit of INSO-GGSU-HSO alliance was elected president.


President- Iqbalpreet Singh (SOI- INSO-GGSU)

Vice president- Manpreet Kaur (SOI- INSO-GGSU)

Secretary – Harpreet Singh (SOI- INSO-GGSU)

Joint Secretary- Arush Dev (SOI- INSO-GGSU)


President- Gurmeet Kaur (SOI- PUSU- GGSU- SOPU- JACP)

Vice president- Kanishk Khanna (SOI- PUSU- GGSU- SOPU- JACP)

Secretary- Akashdeep (SOI- PUSU- GGSU- SOPU- JACP)

Joint secretary- Harinder Singh (SOI- PUSU- GGSU- SOPU- JACP)


President- Akshay Dhiman (SOPU- HSA)

Vice president- Avinash (SOI)

Secretary- Megha Sharma (ABVP)

Joint secretary- Gautam (SOI)


President-Mohit (INSO-GGSU-HSO)

Vice president- Amandeep Kaur (INSO- GGSU-HSO)

Secretary- Sajal Kamboj (ABVP- ISA)

Joint secretary- Raman Bholta (ABVP- ISA)

SGGS-26 (Khalsa College)

President- Satnam Singh (KCSU-GGSU-SOPU)

Vice president- Kanika Arora (KCSU-GGSU-SOPU)

Secretary- Anil Kumar (KCSU-GGSU-SOPU)

Joint secretary- Rupinder Singh (KCSU-GGSU-SOPU)


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On