Saturday, November 16, 2019

Posted at: Jun 10, 2019, 6:54 AM; last updated: Jun 10, 2019, 6:54 AM (IST)

Shrawasti, Shourya claim twin titles

Shrawasti, Shourya claim twin titles
Gaurav Kumar in action during the STA Open Tournament at the Sector 1 Chandigarh Club complex on Sunday. Pradeep Tewari

Chandigarh, June 9

Shrawasti Kundilya and Shourya Jishtu claimed twin titles on the concluding day of the STA Open Tennis Tournament at the Sector 1 Chandigarh Club today.

In the combined U-10 final, Shrawasti fought down a tough challenge from Akhil Beniwal to register a 6-5(1) victory. Earlier in the semifinals, she had blanked Vrishin Awasthi 4-0 and Beniwal had overpowered Kabir Mehta with an identical 4-0 scoreline.

Shrawasti won her second title by defeating Dhriti Prashar 6-3. Jishtu claimed the boys’ U-12 title by defeating Daksh Kapoor. In the semis, Jishtu had overpowered Devansh Parajuli 6-3 while Kapoor defeated Gopaljee 6-3. In the boys’ U-14 final, Jishtu overpowered Hriday Panday 6-4. Jishtu had defeated Samarpit Bhatia 6-2 to confirm his berth in the final, while Panday blanked Kapoor 6-4.

Gaurav Kumar, meanwhile, won the boys’ U-16 final by defeating Kartik Sunil 6-3. Kumar defeated Dhairya 6-1 and Sunil overpowered Sabhya 6-2. In the girls’ U-14 final, Dhriti Prashar blanked Poonam 6-0, while in the girls’ U-16 final Khushleen overpowered Tamanna 6-4. —TNS


  • Combined U-10 : Shrawasti Kundilya bt Akhil Beniwal 6-5 (1)
  • Boys' U-12: Shourya Jishtu bt Daksh Kapoor 6-4 
  • Boys’ U-14: Shourya Jishtu bt Hriday Panday 6-4
  • Boys' U-16: Gaurav Kumar bt Kartik Sunil 6-3
  • Girls' U-12:  Shrawasti Kundilya bt Dhriti Prashar 6-3
  • Girls’ U-14: Dhriti Prashar bt Poonam 6-0
  • Girls’ U-16: Khushleen Kaur bt Tamanna 6-4


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On