Saturday, December 07, 2019

Posted at: Nov 3, 2019, 8:06 AM; last updated: Nov 3, 2019, 8:06 AM (IST)

Top seed Yugraj in next round

Registers 6-1 6-0 victory over Aryan; Chahal, Gaurav,Gurmanat move ahead

Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, November 2

Top seed Yugraj Singh outplayed Aryan Aggarwal in straight sets 6-1 6-0 to qualify for the second round of the boys’ U-16 category on the opening day of the CLTA-AITA Super Series Tennis Tournament (U-16 and U-18 ), at the Sector 10 CLTA Complex today.

Second seed Chahal Singh ousted Aditya Bhatnagar 6-0 6-0, while third seed Gaurav Kumar outplayed Mehul Gautam 6-4 6-3. Fourth seed Yuvraj Bhardwaj faced some resistance before registering a 6-1 6-7(3) 6-4 win over Rattan Kabir. Avish Verma defeated Aarya Vaibhav Nigam 6-1 6-0, while Arnav Bishnoi ousted Tarun Sharma and Damanpreet Singh outplayed Angad Rangi by identical scores of 6-2 6-2. 

Gurmanat Kaur Sandhu also moved ahead in the girls’ U-16 category by defeating Rithika Parivelan 6-2 6-0. Bhumi Kakkar blanked Shriya Harpal Singh 6-4 6-0, while Rubani Kaur Sidhu struggled hard to defeat Anandita Sharma 6-3 3-6 6-3. 

Meanwhile, in the boys’ U-18 category, Samarbir Singh Sidhu blanked Abhay Doga 9-5. Dhananjay Singh also won an easy tie against Sarthak Arora 9-7, while Moksh Puri outplayed Yashsvi Hooda 9-6. 

Lakshya Gupta recorded a 9-2 win over Arnav Harsh 9-2, while fifth seed Punjab’s Sukhpreet Singh Jhoje managed to edge past Ajay Singh 9-8(3). 

Khush Sharma played calmly to record a 9-6 win over Naresh Badgujar, while Pranav Mehta defeated Satyajeet 9-7. Sixth seed Tejas Kartikey held his nerves to defeat Preet Paul Sindh Sidhu 9-8(2), while seventh seed Gurnoor Kular Singh blanked Harmanjot Singh 9-6 to make his way into the second qualifying round. 

Ajbani Dahiya moved into the next round by defeating Manjot Preet Singh 9-2, while eighth seed Krishang Raghuvanshi registered a 9-5 win over Raghav Singh. In the last tie, Sarabjot Singh defeated Sukhambir Singh Walia 9-3. 

In the girls’ U-18 category, Vanshita Malhotra outplayed Sanya Chadha 6-1 6-1. Harnoor Kaur Sidhu also won her match against Kuhoo Atrey 7-6(2) 6-0, while SR Anaya thrashed Jeshna 6-0 6-0. 

Konika Singh Dhull defeated Vishita Ranbir Kumar 6-1 6-3. The boys’ U-18 final qualifying matches will be played on Sunday. 

Results (qualifying round)

Boys' U-18 

  • Samarbir Singh Sidhu bt Abhay Doga 9-5, Dhananjay Singh bt Sarthak Arora 9-7, Moksh Puri bt Yashsvi Hooda 9-6, Lakshya Gupta bt Arnav Harsh 9-2, Sukhpreet Singh Jhoje bt Ajay Singh 9-8(3), Khush Sharma bt Naresh Badgujar 9-6, Tejas Kartikey [6] bt Preet Paul Sindh Sidhu 9-8(2), Pranav Mehta bt Satyajeet 9-7, Gurnoor Kular Singh bt Harmanjot Singh 9-6, Ajbani Dahiya bt Manjot Preet Singh 9-2, Krishang Raghuvanshi bt Raghav Singh 9-5, Sarabjot Singh bt Sukhambir Singh Walia 9-3 
Boys' U-16 

  • Yugraj Singh bt Aryan Aggarwal  6-1 6-0, Chahal Singh bt Aditya Bhatnagar 6-0 6-0, Gaurav Kumar bt Mehul Gautam 6-4 6-3, Yuvraj Bhardwaj bt Rattan Kabir 6-1 6-7(3) 6-4, Avish Verma bt Aarya Vaibhav Nigam 6-1 6-0, Arnav Bishnoi bt Tarun Sharma 6-2 6-2, Damanpreet Singh bt Angad Rangi 6-2 6-2
Girls' U-18 

  • Vanshita Malhotra bt Sanya Chadha 6-1 6-1, Harnoor Kaur Sidhu bt Kuhoo Atrey 7-6(2) 6-0, SR Anaya bt Jeshna 6-0 6-0, Konika Singh Dhull bt Vishita Ranbir Kumar 6-1 6-3
Girls' U-16 

  • Gurmanat Kaur Sandhu bt Rithika Parivelan 6-2 6-0, Bhumi Kakkar bt Shriya Harpal Singh 6-4 6-0, Rubani Kaur Sidhu bt Anandita Sharma 6-3 3-6 6-3


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On