Friday, November 22, 2019
Haryana » Governance

Posted at: Jan 3, 2017, 12:50 AM; last updated: Jan 3, 2017, 12:50 AM (IST)

Admn revamp: 2 divisions, one police range created

Pramod Kumar to head reforms authority

  • Director of the Chandigarh-based Institute for Development and Communication Pramod Kumar will head the Haryana Governance Reforms Authority (HGRA). The HGRA will be mandated to simplify old rules and procedures. The HGRA will not submit its report in lump sum, but every month to the government.

Pradeep Sharma

Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, January 2

In a bid to provide responsive administration, the state government has created two divisions and a police range. While Karnal and Faridabad will be new divisions, Ambala has been made the police range.

“The administrative organisation is the part of a series of measures to provide efficient, transparent and more responsive administration to the people,” Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar said here today.

With today’s decision, the number of divisions has gone up from four to six. The Karnal Division will have the districts of Karnal, Panipat and Kaithal, while the Faridabad Division will include Nuh, Palwal and Faridabad districts. The Ambala Division will have districts of Ambala, Yamunanagar, Panchkula and Kurukshetra. The Gurgaon Division will include the districts of Gurugram, Mahendragarh and Rewari. The Hisar Division will have the districts of Hisar, Fatehabad, Sirsa and Jind. The Rohtak Division will have the districts of Rohtak, Jhajjar, Sonepat, Charkhi Dadri and Bhiwani.

The Ambala Police Range will have districts of Ambala, Yamunanagar and Kurukshetra. The existing Karnal Range will include the districts of Karnal, Panipat and Kaithal. Hisar Range will have Hisar, Fatehabad, Sirsa and Hansi police districts. Similarly, Rohtak Range will have the districts of Rohtak, Jhajjar, Sonepat and Charkhi Dadri. The South Range will cover the districts of Rewari, Palwal, Mahendragarh and Mewat.

He said that the existing Police Commissionerates of Faridabad, Gurugram and Panchkula would remain as such.

Official sources said the decision was the part of the state government’s initiatives to create smaller administrative units for better governance. Recently, Charkhi Dadri was named a new district besides creating 10 tehsils and 11 sub-tehsils and a police district of Hansi.


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On