Monday, October 21, 2019

Posted at: Apr 22, 2019, 10:47 AM; last updated: Apr 22, 2019, 10:50 PM (IST)

JJP fields Digvijay Chautala from Sonepat against Bhupinder Hooda

JJP fields Digvijay Chautala  from Sonepat against Bhupinder Hooda
Digvijay Chautala

Tribune News Service

New Delhi/Chandigarh, April 22

The Jannayak Janata Party on Monday announced its three more Lok Sabha candidates for Haryana,, including Digvijay Chautala from Sonepat against former Chief Minister and Congress candidate Bhupinder Singh Hooda.

It fielded Jai Bhagwan Sharma from Kurukshetra and Mehmood Khan from Gurgaon, a party spokesperson said.

Founded by Ajay Chautala, father of Digvijay Chautala, in December last year, the JJP is contesting the Lok Sabha elections in Haryana in alliance with the AAP.

The Aam Aadmi Party is contesting on three seats, while the JJP is fighting on the remaining seven seats in the state. On Sunday, the AAP announced the name of its three candidates in Haryana, prominent among them was its state unit chief Naveen Jaihind from Faridabad.

Jaihind is considered a confidant of AAP national chief and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal.

The JJP was formed after a split in the Indian National Lok Dal following a feud in the Chautala clan. Ajay Chautala and his sons — Dushyant and Digvijay — were expelled from the party.

The JJP has announced candidates on other seats in Haryana previously.

It has fielded Dushyant Chautala from Hisar, who is seeking re-election from the seat.

With the Hisar MP’s younger brother too entering the fray, two members from Ajay Chautala’s family are contesting the General Election.

Digvijay Chautala had unsuccessfully fought the Jind bypoll in January this year.

The AAP had extended support to Digvijay Chautala in the bypoll, which the ruling BJP won.

On Sunday, the Congress fielded its heavyweight and former CM Hooda from Sonepat.

The BJP has re-nominated its sitting MP Ramesh Chander Kaushik from Sonepat.

Sonipat parliament constituency has a sizeable number of Jat voters and both Hooda and Digvijay Chautala belong to the community.

The JJP spokesperson said Mehmood Khan, who has been fielded from Gurgaon, is an IIM-Ahmedabad graduate and has worked in multi-national companies.

Jai Bhagwan Sharma had resigned as BJP’s state executive committee member in November 2018 and later joined the JJP. He had contested the 2014 Assembly election from Pehowa but lost.

The filing of nomination papers for all 10 Lok Sabha seats in Haryana will close on April 23. Polling will be held in the sixth phase on May 12. With PTI


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On